Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SLS News Archive: 2022.04.07

SLS NewsBlast 2022.04.07

SLS NewsBlast 2022.04.07

Happy School Library Month!

Thank you for all you do for your students, staff, and school communities across the region.  You amaze us every day with all the wonderful thing you do.  AASL has curated a collection of resources to celebrate the month.  They can be found at https://tinyurl.com/4er24fc8

Collection, Selection, and Objection: A day of dialogue around the policies, laws, and professional considerations of supporting a diverse and representative collection.

Registration for this statewide event, taking place on Friday, May 13 is now open.  There are several ways you can participate in this event: remotely with a team of librarians and administrators from your district, remotely individually, or from our site at Monroe 1 BOCES with your district team and colleagues from around the region.  Please see the attached flyer for more information, and register at the links below.

To attend remotely from your district site.

To attend from Monroe 1 BOCES.

Julianne Westrich, 2023 Iditarod Teacher on The Trail Update

Congratulations again go to Julianne Westrich, West Irondequoit’s K-3 school librarian, who was selected as the 2023 Teacher on the Trail. 

RRLC’s Library of the Year Award

In recognition of National Library Week, April 3-9, 2022, the Rochester Regional Library Council will name three libraries - one public, one school, and one academic/ special - as a RRLC 2022 Library of the Year!  Visit their webpage here to begin voting. Deadline for submissions is midnight April 9, 2022.  Library of the Year winners will be recognized at the RRLC Annual Meeting taking place May 12, 2022.  Please share this link freely and get voting today for your library!

2022 Harold Hacker Fund for the Advancement of Libraries Grant

Applications are now open for this grant opportunity are now open, and due by 11:58 pm on May 2, 2022.  This grant is sponsored by the Friends & Foundation of the Rochester Public Library. All RRLC member libraries and library systems, all Pioneer Library System libraries, and all Monroe County Library System libraries are eligible to apply.

Please visit the Harold Hacker Grant page for full details and to download the application.

NovelNY and Our Electronic Database Service

Great news!  The current resources available through NovelNY will remain the same through the 2022-23 school year.  Also, our Electronic Database Service pricing has been sent to Library Supervisors, Tech Directors, and Library Leads so now is the time to begin planning your purchases for next school year.

SSL 2022 Conference

The New York Library Association’s Section of School Librarians (SSL) Annual Conference is being held May 19-21 at the Turning Stone Casino in Verona, NY.  More complete information about the conference is found at NYLA/SSL 2022 (google.com)   Early bird registration ends April 8, 2022.. 

Other Professional Development Opportunities

We had a fabulous day of media literacy learning last Friday with Jennifer LaGarde (aka Library Girl).  Participants in the workshop received a copy of her latest book, Developing Digital Detectives.  We will be sending copies of the book out to all of those who weren’t able to attend during the week of Spring Break, so if you weren’t at the workshop, keep your eyes peeled for your copy.

We have many more learning opportunities planned from now through the summer.  Click on the links below to register:

Kathleen Odean’s Best New Books for Young Adults Workshop will be presented in three parts via Zoom from 3:00-4:30 pm..  To register (you are welcome to attend any or all sessions) go to the links below:

Kathleen Odean's Best New Fiction for Grades 6-9 Tuesday April 26, 2022

Kathleen Odean's Best New Nonfiction & Poetry for Young Adults (Grades 6-12) Wednesday, April 27, 2022

Kathleen Odean's Best New Fiction for Grades 10-12

Collection Development Workshop (Collaboration with the Genesee Valley BOCES SLS) August 10 & 11 (Full Day)

We are re-running the Collection Development Plan workshop this summer for those of you who may not be able to take a day out of school. This 2-day workshop will allow you to create and/or refine your school or district collection development plan. We will cover mission statements, program analysis, collection evaluation, 5-year budget planning, selection of new materials, weeding, and request for reconsideration procedures. The first meeting will take place at Monroe 1 BOCES Technology Services Building at 15 Linden Park in Rochester, NY. The second meeting will take place at GVBOCES LeRoy Service Center, located at 80 Munson Street in LeRoy, NY. There will be an option to earn additional CTLE credit for ongoing work through an online platform.

August 10 at Monroe One BOCES

August 11 at Genesee Valley BOCES

Media Literacy Workshops (Collaboration with Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES)

Constructivist Media Decoding  April 11 from 3:30 – 4:30 pm

Project Look Sharp is a non-profit organization out of Ithaca College with an agenda: empowering people to be media literate. The way they intend to meet the goals of their agenda. Integrate media literacy practice into every curricular area. Whether it's online, on tv, on a billboard, or on a textbook, students today need to be able to decode the world around them. In this session we'll teach you how to get your students critically thinking through constructive questioning.

Media Bias May 3 from 3:30 – 4:30 pm

Join us for a deeper dive into bias- what it looks and sounds like, what our own role is, and how to sort the fact from the fiction. Leave with ideas for tackling this difficult subject with your students.

Image Investigation BREAKOUT! May 24 from 3:30 – 4:30 pm

Learn how to use photo-analyzing tools and strategies to find the truth behind the images you see. Put your sleuthing skills to the test in a Breakout-style game that is all about image investigation!

Library Funding in NY

The state budget is close to being finalized and consensus has yet been reached.  If you feel strongly about funding for all types of libraries in New York, you can voice your opinion to the governor and your elected officials using NYLA’s Take Action Advocacy Center at Home (cqrcengage.com)

Your Monroe One School Library Services Team!

Note: the information in this email may be confidential or may be legally privileged. If you are not the intended recipient, you must not read, use, or disseminate the information.

Upcoming Full-Day Workshop