Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

School Library System: Home

Member Libraries

Listing of Monroe One BOCES School Library System's member libraries.

Professional Organizations

 


 


 


 

 

Neighboring Library Systems

 

Genesee Valley BOCES serves 22 rural districts between Rochester and Buffalo.


 

Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES serves 9 districts on the west side of Rochster, NY.


 

The Rochester City School district serves approximately 32,000 students in over 80 schools in the city of Rochester.


 

Wayne-Finger Lakes BOCES serves 25 districts between Rochester and Syracuse including, in large part, the Finger Lakes.

Contact Form

Welcome Back

Welcome Back!

We are looking forward to a successful 2021-2022 School Year. Please check below for announcements and event dates to save.

Mini Grants are Back!

Mini Grants are Back for the 2021-2022 School Year!

Applications are due October 4th, 2021.

Information and application documents found here.

More Simultaneous Use Titles!

Monroe One BOCES SLS has purchased additional audiobooks and ebooks for simultaneous use. These titles will be available for one year, and potentially more. This collection holds over 600 elementary titles, and over 170 titles at the secondary level.

Simultaneous use (AKA "Always Available") ebooks/audiobooks are those that can be borrowed by more than one person at a time, so if you want your whole class to read the same book at the same time, this is a perfect solution.

Upcoming PD

Upcoming PD:

SCHOOL LIBRARY SERVICES / AUTOMATION

Follett Destiny Overview 2021-2022
We will cover Circulation, Cataloging, and Admin duties.

Instructor: Sally Bailey
September 14, 2021 3:30 – 4:30 pm
In Person at 11 Linden Park

Five Systems: Our Union Catalog for Inter-Library Loan
For new librarians and library staff (or as a refresher because last year interlibrary loan was sort of on hold due to COVID) this zoom session will give you the overview you need to get you started interlibrary loaning (again). In this quick refresher course, you'll learn to use the Five Systems Union Catalog, learn to search for the editions you want, and learn to request and fill orders. This session is for School Librarians and School Library Staff only.

Instructors: Andy Austin, Liesl Toates
September 23, 2021 3:30 – 4:00 pm
Zoom link will be sent to registered attendees

Always Available eBooks in SORA
Monroe ONE BOCES SLS has a permanent collection of almost 700 ebooks and audiobooks available to teachers and students to use simultaneously. This year we purchased an additional collection of over 700 more titles available for the school year.  

In this workshop we'll learn how to access these titles, and take a look at a handful of them.

Instructor: Liesl Toates
October 5, 2021 3:30 – 4:30 pm
Zoom link will be sent to registered attendees

PBS Learning Media
PBS Learning Media is a catalog of PBS resources specifically designed for educators. All educators in New York State have access to this free and now fully Ed Law 2d compliant resource. Learn how to access the PBS Media you want to complement your instruction. This workshop is for teachers and librarians.

Instructors: Liesl Toates & Doreen Pietrantoni
October 14, 2021 3:30 – 4:30pm
Zoom link will be sent to registered attendees

Collection Development
This 2-part workshop will allow you to create and/or refine your school or district collection development plan. We will cover the areas of: mission statements, program analysis, collection evaluation, 5-year budget planning, selection of new materials, weeding and request for reconsideration procedures.

The workshop will consist of two in-person days, as well as assigned work between meetings. The first meeting will take place at GVBOCES LeRoy Service Center, located at 80 Munson Street in LeRoy, NY. The second meeting will take place at Monroe 1 BOCES Technology Services Building at 15 Linden Park in Rochester, NY.

Instructors: Liesl Toates, Emilee Williamson, Julie Hengenius
October 19th, 2021 8:30 am - 2:30 pm
In Person at Genesee Valley BOCES – 80 Munson Street, LeRoy, NY

November 9, 2021 8:30 am - 2:30 pm
In Person at Monroe One BOCES – 15 Linden Park, Rochester, NY

 

MULTIMEDIA

 

Multimedia Service Overview
The Monroe 1 BOCES Multimedia service offers access to thousands of educational video titles, feature films, royalty free songs and sound effects, and more! This overview will teach you how to access our digital resources, how to request off-air recordings (television programs), and how to use the booking system to request physical media items. This workshop is for all educators in districts that participate in the Monroe One BOCES Multimedia Service (click here to see if your district is one of them).

Instructors: Liesl Toates and Mark D’Annunzio
September 21, 2021 3:30 – 4:30 pm
Zoom link will be sent to registered attendees

Educational Video with SAFARI Montage and Learn360
Access over 70,000 educational videos from the Monroe One Multimedia Service through SAFARI Montage and Learn360. Our SAFARI Montage catalog provides access to both resources (and more) with a single search. In this hour long webinar, you'll learn how to target your searches to find the media you're looking for, create playlists to complement your lessons, and organize the playlists for future use. We'll cover new features like View and Chat, and do an overview of new titles. This webinar is for educators in districts that participate in the Monroe One Multimedia Service. (Click here to see if your district is one of them).

Instructor: Liesl Toates
September 29, 2021 3:30 – 4:30 pm
Zoom link will be sent to registered attendees

Soundzabound: Royalty Free Music for your Video/Audio Projects
Soundzabound is provided to Monroe One BOCES districts who participate in the Multimedia service. It is a royalty-free music service, with a catalog of thousands of songs and sound effects. In this webinar, we will show you how to access Soundzabound from school and at home, and how to incorporate it into your projects. (Click here to see if your district is one of them).

Instructors: Liesl Toates and Mark D’Annunzio
November 2, 2021 3:30 – 4:00 pm
Zoom link will be sent to registered attendees

Feature Films in the Classroom
Learn to find and use the feature films that are available to educators and students in districts who belong to the Multimedia Service. This workshop is for all educators in districts that participate in the Monroe One BOCES Multimedia Service. (Click here to see if your district is one of them).

Instructor: Liesl Toates
November 16, 2021 3:30 – 4:00 pm
Zoom link will be sent to registered attendees

 

quality content

About the SLS

The Monroe One BOCES School Library System (SLS) supports 10 public school districts and 15 private schools on the east side of Rochester, NY. It is our mission to provide equal access resource sharing to all students, teachers, and staff and to provide professional development and resources for school librarians.

Link to Monroe One BOCES SLS Website

SLS Staff

Katie Bertrand
Director of Library, Media Services & the Arts
Phone 585-249-7219
katie_bertrand@boces.monroe.edu

Liesl Toates
Library Media Specialist
Phone 585-383-2215
liesl_toates@boces.monroe.edu

Sally Bailey
Library Automation
Phone 585-383-6601
sally_bailey@boces.monroe.edu

Barbara Born
Electronic Databases
Phone 585-383-6627
barbara_born@boces.monroe.edu

Wendy Petry
ILL and Arts in Ed
Phone 585-383-6623
wendy_petry@boces.monroe.edu

Access the Library Media Blog for news, event updates and current WXXI listings.

Site Directory

About SLS

Member Libraries
SLS Council
News Archive
Website
Library Media Blog
Pandemic Resources


Databases

CoSER Databases
Provided by NovelNY

Follett Support

Destiny Support 
District Catalogs


MiniGrants

*SLS MiniGrants 
are back this year!

Stay tuned for more
info.

MultiMedia

Ensemble
Off-air Recording
Safari Montage
Soundzabound
Swank
Overdrive Advantage

Books

Always Avail. Ebooks
Five Systems (ILL)

Professional Development

Calendar
Workshop "Handouts"
AASL Standards
Advocacy
Reading
Diversity
ESIFC Guide
 

 

 

 

Monroe One BOCES
School Library System
 

11 Linden Park
Rochester, NY 14625