Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

School Library System: Student Research Awards

Forms

Entries should be mailed to:

Student Research Awards
New York State Archives Partnership Trust

9C49 Cultural Education Center

Albany, NY 12230

or sent via email to: archedu@nysed.gov

For More Information

NYS Archives Website
Questions?
contact Jordan Maul at (518) 474-0245

email archedu@nysed.gov

The New York State Archives announces its thirtieth annual Student Research Awards program to promote and recognize excellence in student research. The main purpose of the awards program is to encourage students to explore the wealth of historical records held in historical records repositories* in New York State. The program also serves to increase cooperation between schools and organizations that administer historical records useful for education.

The Student Research Awards program is a statewide competition open to all New York State students in grades 4-12.

A total of three (3) awards will be given; one each for students in the following divisions:

  • Grades 4-5
  • Grades 6-8
  • Grades 9-12

Each award consists of a framed certificate and a cash prize. To qualify for an award, all entries must:

  • Show a heavy reliance on information from historical records
  • Provide an annotated bibliography
  • Provide a URL in the annotated bibliography for each online historical record found on the Internet
  • Provide a signed entry form Projects that do not show evidence of the use of historical records; or do not include an annotated bibliography or signed entry form will be disqualified.

An official entry form must accompany each application.

Funding for these awards is provided by the Laura and Robert Chodos Endowment and support from donors to the Archives Partnership Trust. A non-profit support organization that supports the work of the State Archives, the Trust builds education, preservation and outreach programs not funded by the State making accessible over 350 years of New York's colonial and state government records. The State Archives is a program of the New York State Education Department. www.nysarchivestrust.org