Skip to Main Content

Kit Info: Home

Instructions

Our Model Schools Service and our School Library System (SLS) both loan makerspace items and robotics kits to educators in schools in the Monroe One Region. Pictured below are the kits that are available. Click on the item to read more about it, and click it again to make the text disappear. 

The School Library System only loans to librarians. If you are a teacher and would like to borrow an SLS kit, please collaborate with your librarian. 

Full instructions for borrowing are at the bottom of the page.

BeeBot

Grades PreK-2
This colorful, easy-to-operate, and friendly little robot is a perfect tool to teach sequencing, estimation, problem solving and just having fun. Tell Bee-Bot® to move forward, back and turn left or right by pressing the arrow keys. Then press GO and send him on his way. Bee-Bot® stops, beeps and blinks after each step so you can follow along as Bee-Bot® executes your program. Bee-Bot® remembers up to 40 commands and encourages increasingly sophisticated plans and programs.
  • 1 kit includes 6 devices and a charging device
  • 3 Bee-Bot transparent mats that can be customized
  • Search "BeeBot" in catalog

Hummingbird Bit *Librarians Only*

Grades 4-8
Inspire deep and joyful learning with the micro:bit-powered Hummingbird Bit Robotics Kit! The Hummingbird Robotics Kit is comprised of lights, sensors, and motors which allow students to build a robot out of any materials.

LittleBits Base Kit

Grades 2-5
LittleBits is an easy-to-use system of color-coded electronic building blocks that snap together to turn ideas into inventions. Each bit has a specific function (e.g. lights, sensors, motors, inputs, and outputs) and is reusable for infinite number of inventions. Numerous lessons/activities are available on their website here: https://classroom.littlebits.com/explore/search?type=lessons
  • Includes 10 bits
  • 2 kits available (2 students collaborate)
  • Search "LB" in catalog

LittleBits Steam Student Set

Grades 2-5
LittleBits is an easy-to-use system of color-coded electronic building blocks that snap together to turn ideas into inventions. Each bit has a specific function (e.g. lights, sensors, motors, inputs, and outputs) and is reusable for infinite number of inventions. Numerous lessons/activities are available on their website here: https://classroom.littlebits.com/explore/search?type=lessons
  • Includes 19 bits
  • 10 kits (3-4 students collaborate)
  • Search "LB" in catalog

Ozobot Bit

Grades K-12
Ozobots are little robots that are designed as an introduction to coding. Students use color combinations to move the Ozobot on a path from one location to another. Vendor provides numerous learning activities with a free log-in to lessons and activities. Access these here: https://portal.ozobot.com/lessons.
  • 1 kit available
  • Kit includes 18 Ozobots and charging device
  • Search "Ozobot" in catalog

Sphero Bolt Power Pack

Grades 3-12
The Sphero BOLT 15 pack contains everything you need to get started teaching robotics and the fundamentals of programming. Electrify your class, club, or program with BOLT and Sphero Edu. Plugging in the Power Pack conveniently charges all robots at once.
  • 2 kits available through Model Schools
  • Kit includes 15 robots
  • Each BOLT robot requires access to an iPad or other compatible device (see chart here)
  • Search "Sphero" in catalog

BreakoutEDU

Grades K-12
Immerse your students in a puzzle-like scenario where they have to solve a series of problems to ultimately get into the box. This standards-aligned game platform is applicable to multiple subject areas and strengthens problem-solving skills and promotes cooperation and teamwork.
  • 4 kits available through Model Schools
  • 6 kits available to Librarians through SLS
  • Search "BreakoutEDU" in catalog

 

KEVA Contraptions200 *Librarians Only*

Grades 2+
Young thinkers can build unbelievable ball track structures with this simple stacking plank set. Create ramps, funnels, chutes and crazy contraptions like the "Black Hole" and "Bounce Plate." Then find out if the ball rolls as expected. No glue, no connectors: just loads of constructive fun!
  • 12 kits available
  • (includes 200 wooden planks, 2 specially-designed lightweight balls for maximum action, a canvas storage bag and an 18-page idea book with project photos and quick-start instructions)
  • Available only through SLS
  • Search "KEVA" in catalog

LittleBits Code Kit

Grades 2-5
LittleBits is an easy-to-use system of color-coded electronic building blocks that snap together to turn ideas into inventions. Each bit has a specific function (e.g. lights, sensors, motors, inputs, and outputs) and is reusable for infinite number of inventions. Numerous lessons/activities are available on their website here: https://classroom.littlebits.com/explore/search?type=lessons
  • Includes 16 bits and 24 accessories
  • 3-4 students collaborate
  • Search "LB" in catalog

makedo INVENT *Librarians Only*

Grades K+
The ultimate cardboard construction kit for safe, hands-on learning. With enough low-tech tools for a whole team of makers to safely cut, fold and connect with up-cycled cardboard, cardboard construction has never been this easy!
  • 4 kits available (each serves 12-24 students)
  • (includes 14 Safe-Saws, 7 Scru-Drivers, 7 Fold-Rollers, 240 Scrus (connects 1-3 layers), 80 Scru+ (connects 3-5 layers), 12 Mini-Tools)
  • Available only through SLS
  • Search "makedo" in catalog

Ozobot EVO

Grades K-12
Ozobots EVO are Bluetooth-enabled Ozobots. EVO has extra programmable features including proximity sensors and a speaker, and connects to Ozobot Classroom for updates and real-time information about student progress and engagement. These come in a classroom kit so multiple students can use them. Access the Ozobot lesson library here: https://portal.ozobot.com/lessons.
  • 3 kits available through Model Schools
  • 1 kit available for Librarians only
  • Kit includes 18 Ozobots, markers and charging cords
  • Search "Ozobot" or "EVO" in catalog

Squishy Circuits Deluxe *Librarians Only*

Grades 2+
Start circuit building right away with Squishy Circuits. This kit includes a deluxe battery holder which has a knob that allows your lights to blink and buzzers to beep at different speeds.
  • 12 kits available
  • (comes in a box that includes all necessary components)
  • Available only through SLS
  • Search "Squishy Circuits" in catalog   Find more info here

Cubetto *Librarians Only*

Grades PreK-3
Cubetto is the friendly wooden robot that will teach your child the basics of computer programming through adventure and hands on play. Montessori approved, LOGO Turtle inspired.
  • 4 robotic kits available
  • (includes robot, programming board and coding blocks, and playmat)
  • Available only through SLS
  • Search "Cubetto" in catalog
  • Find more info here

LEGO Motion Prime *Librarians Only*

Grades 5+
LEGO® Education BricQ Motion Prime engages secondary school students in STEAM learning as they experiment with forces, motion and interactions in the context of sports. BricQ Motion Prime provides easy, hands-on learning experiences that spark cool “aha” moments, as students set LEGO bricks in motion without the need for technology.
  • 12 kits available
  • (comes in a box that includes 562 pieces)
  • Available only through SLS
  • Search "LEGO" in catalog
  • Find more info here

LittleBits 15piece Kit

Grades 2-5
LittleBits is an easy-to-use system of color-coded electronic building blocks that snap together to turn ideas into inventions. Each bit has a specific function (e.g. lights, sensors, motors, inputs, and outputs) and is reusable for infinite number of inventions. Numerous lessons/activities are available on their website here: https://classroom.littlebits.com/explore/search?type=lessons
  • Each kit includes 15 bits
  • 2 kits (2-3 students collaborate)
  • Search "LB" in catalog

Makey Makey

Grades 2-12
Turn everyday objects into touchpads and combine them with the internet. Makey Makey is an invention kit designed to connect everyday objects to computer keys. Using a circuit board, alligator clips, and a USB cable, the toy uses closed loop electrical signals to send the computer either a keyboard stroke or mouse click signal.
  • 10 kits available through Model Schools
  • 12 kits available through SLS (Librarians Only)
  • Each kit serves 1-2 students
  • Kits include wires, pencils, and other components
  • Each kit uses a USB to connect to a computer or chromebook
  • Search "Makey Makey" in catalog

Silhouette Portrait 2 *Librarians Only*

Grades 6-12
The Silhouette Portrait® is an electronic cutting machine for personal use. Like a home printer, it plugs into your PC or Mac® with a simple USB cable. However, instead of printing, it uses a small blade to cut paper, cardstock, vinyl, fabric, and other material up to 8 inches wide and 10 feet long.
  • 1 Silhouette Portrait available
  • Available only through SLS
  • Search "Portrait" in catalog

Wonder Dash Robots

Grades 1-6
Dash robots use a variety of apps with blockly coding to control the robot for navigation, voice control, light control, and movement.
  • 14 robots available
  • Each robot will arrive with an iPad and a charging USB Block
  • Search "Dash" in catalog

Cue Robots

Grades 5-8
The Cue Robot provides students with opportunities to explore increasingly complex programming while focusing on more advanced block coding and text coding in JavaScript. 1. It’s designed for students with previous coding experience.
  • 12 robots available
  • Search "Cue" in catalog

LEGO Motion Essentials *Librarians Only*

Grades K-5
This introductory STEAM experience offers standards-aligned lessons that include engaging videos and printable worksheets to excite and inspire students. Lesson plans, teacher videos, assessment rubrics, and math and language arts extensions are included to support and scaffold teachers.
  • 12 kits available
  • (comes in a box that includes 523 pieces)
  • Available only through SLS
  • Search "LEGO" in catalog
  • Find more info here

LittleBits Premium Kit

Grades 2-5
LittleBits is an easy-to-use system of color-coded electronic building blocks that snap together to turn ideas into inventions. Each bit has a specific function (e.g. lights, sensors, motors, inputs, and outputs) and is reusable for infinite number of inventions. Numerous lessons/activities are available on their website here: https://classroom.littlebits.com/explore/search?type=lessons
  • Each kit includes 14 bits
  • 2 kits (2-3 students collaborate)
  • Search "LB" in catalog

Micro:bit Club Kit *Librarians Only*

Grades 3-12
The BBC micro:bit is a pocket-sized computer that introduces you to how software and hardware work together. It has an LED light display, buttons, sensors and many input/output features that, when programmed, let it interact with you and your world.
  • Kit comes with 10 micro:bit packs (each pack includes 1 micro:bit, 1 battery holder, 2 AAA batteries, 1 USB cord, 1 get started guide and 1 safety guide)
  • Kit serves 10-20 students
  • Search "microbit" in catalog
  • Click here to get started with micro:bit

Sphero Bolt Set *Librarians Only*

Grades 3-12
The Sphero BOLT 15 pack contains everything you need to get started teaching robotics and the fundamentals of programming. Electrify your class, club, or program with BOLT and Sphero Edu.
  • Each BOLT robot requires access to an iPad or other compatible device (see chart here)
  • Kit includes 14 robots (1 has stopped working)
  • Available only through SLS
  • Search "Sphero" in catalog

iPad Air 2

These often need to be checked out along with a kit (Sphero and Hummingbird are two examples that need devices). The maximum loan period for iPads is 15 school days, and due to high demand, there is a limit of up to 12 iPads per booking, 2 times per school year.

How to book items using Media Manager

Our Model Schools Department, Multimedia and School Library System collaborate to bring physical kits to you through our Media Manager. You can view the available items from each service in the boxes below, however, to book the items, you must do this through our Media Manager.

  • Login (in the upper right corner) using:
    • Your district user name
    • password: media
  • If your login does not work, please contact the Monroe One Help Desk at 383-2217.
  • Click Catalog, and search for the item you wish to book, or use the Resource Lists link at the left.
  • After you find the item you are looking for, click on "Details"
  • Click on "Book It!" which is located in the lower right hand corner. 
  • Enter the desired number of copies you would like to book and click on "Refresh Calendar"
  • Wait for the calendar to update "Copies to Book."
  • Scroll through the calendar to find available dates (displayed in white) and choose an open date. NOTE: If an item is not available, the date will be in red.
  • Please note:
    • The maximum loan period for devices is 15 school days.
    • Due to high demand, there is a limit of up to 12 iPads per booking, 2 times per school year.
  • Click "Save".

Returning Items

Please return your items to the place in your school where you picked them up on the morning that they are due. Our couriers will know to pick them up. If you need to keep the items longer, you may contact Luke Barber or Liesl Toates to find out if it is possible to get an extension.