OverDrive is a leading full-service digital distributor of eBooks, audiobooks, music, and video.
Students & teachers have access to digital books & audio books anytime with through the SORA app. Titles can be viewed online via computer or offline using a mobile device such as a smart phone, eBook reader, MP3 player and other portable devices.
At the welcome screen, choose Monroe #1 BOCES as your school. Then Select your District at the next drop down menu. Enter your regular school computer username and password. Open the document below for detailed instructions.
LibGuide categorizes our collection of Simultaneous Use ebooks. Simultaneous Use (aka Always Available) means any number of students can check out books at the same time, which can be great for whole class reads.
Books come to life with this engaging collection of resources. Find author interviews, readings, videos, lessons and more!
Student Research Awards
The Student Research Awards program is a statewide competition open to all New York State students in grades 4-12. The main purpose of the awards program is to encourage students to explore the wealth of historical records held in historical records repositories* in New York State.
Each award consists of a framed certificate and a cash prize. To qualify for an award, all entries must:
Show a heavy reliance on information from historical records
Provide an annotated bibliography
Provide a URL in the annotated bibliography for each online historical record found on the Internet
Provide a signed entry form Projects that do not show evidence of the use of historical records; or do not
include an annotated bibliography or signed entry form will be disqualified.
Our union catalog, Five Systems, includes schools that are in the Genesee Valley BOCES, Monroe One BOCES, Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES, Rochester City and Wayne-Finger Lakes BOCES Regions. Click the Five Systems logo (below) to open the Five Systems Union Catalog.
Click the logo above to open the Five Systems union catalog.
Click the image to the left, to open the User Guide. This is a very easy to use quick reference guide, that covers just about everything you need to know.
The Rochester Children's Book Festival is held annually at MCC each November. This year it will be held virtually on Saturday, Novebmer 6th. Click the logo to open their web page and register.
The Rochester Teen Book Fest is held annually in May, the Teen Book Fest brings nationally recognized authors to our backyard. Click the logo to open their website.
The 90-Second Newbery Film Festival is an annual video contest in which young filmmakers create weird short movies that tell the entire stories of Newbery-winning books in about a minute and a half. (Ever since 1922, the Newbery Medal has been recognized as the most prestigious award in children’s literature.)
It’s a big range: elementary schoolers, junior high kids, high schoolers, even college students. Adult help OK!
Every year, the festival shows the best movies they receive at special-event screenings in New York City, Chicago, Rochester, and other cities—co-hosted by festival founder James Kennedy (author of the young-adult fantasy The Order of Odd-Fish) and other award-winning children’s authors.
Here’s the rules:
1. Your video should be about 90 seconds. (Okay, okay: if it’s three minutes but absolute genius, they’ll bend the rules for you. But let’s try to keep them short.)
2. Your video has to be about a Newbery award-winning (or Newbery honor-winning) book.
3. They’re not looking for book trailers, video book reports, or just someone merely summarizing the book into the camera. They’re looking for full-on MOVIE DRAMATIZATIONS, with mostly child actors, that manage to tell the entire story of the book in 90 seconds. (That is, your movie shouldn’t conclude with a narrator saying stuff like, “And if you want to know more, just read the book.” Give us the whole story—abbreviated, and dramatized.)
4. Upload your videos to YouTube or Vimeo or whatever and send the link to james [at] 90secondnewbery [dot] com. (Note that there is one “r” in “Newbery,” not two! And please actually email him. If you just “share” the video from YouTube, that makes it difficult for him to respond to you.) Make the subject line be “90 SECOND NEWBERY” and please tell him your name, age, where you’re from, and whatever other comments you’d like to include, including whether you’d like him to link to your personal site. You can provide an alias if you want; He understands privacy concerns.
5. Sending the link to him grants him (James Kennedy) the right to post it on his blog and to other websites where he sometimes posts content (like Facebook, Twitter, etc.) and to share at public readings, school visits—and hopefully the “90-Second Newbery” Film Festival screenings!
6. The general deadline for the ninth annual 90-Second Newbery Film Festival is January 10, 2020.
Teachers, here’s a fun project that will get your students reading Newbery winners. Students, here’s an excuse to mess around with video equipment. Librarians, here’s an activity to do with your teen advisory boards. Homeschoolers, here’s a good long-term project that teaches everything from close reading to scriptwriting, storyboarding to directing, and cinematography to video editing!
Intimidated? Don’t know where to start? Check out our Video Resources page for a step-by-step primer on how to make a 90-Second Newbery video, plus lots of other tips, tricks, and tutorials.
International Children's Digital Library
The ICDL Foundation's goal is to build a collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world. Ultimately, the Foundation aspires to have every culture and language represented so that every child can know and appreciate the riches of children's literature from the world community.
Unite for Literacy
As a for-profit social enterprise, Unite for Literacy partners with businesses to change the literacy landscape of their communities by introducing families to our free digital library.