Spry Library LibGuides: Home
Welcome to the Spry Library Media Center Homepage
Most images in these pages contain links to the associated materials. Simply hover over the image to find the link.
LibGuides Links - Table of Contents
Spry Catalog and Databases:
- Spry Database Page Links to the Database page with links and directions for access databases. Magazine, multimedia, encyclopedia, CultureGrams, and BrainPop are included on this page.
- Britannica School A source for all grades (Pre-K-12) and all reading abilities. Available at three levels--elementary, middle, and high.
- Britannica School - Spanish Edition Accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students and students learning Spanish. Available at two levels—primary and secondary.
- NOVELNY Databases -to access all NOVELNY databases, including Kids InfoBits and other Gale Databases: Accesses by geolocation. If your computer is in New York State it should login. You may be required to set / allow your computer to share you locations. If this does not automatically work type: spryremote.
- Overdrive eBooks & Audiobooks Links and resources to OverDrive from BOCES (Monroe1), MCPL Public Library (Webster Public Library), and NYPL (New York Metro. Public Library)
- SORA (Overdrive) BOCES You can read eBooks or listen to audiobooks on your computer. Use your computer username and password to login. (If you change your password it will automatically be updated in Overdrive / SORA)
Pages and Other Links:
- Award Winning Books A selection of the Siebert, Coretta Scott King, and Pura Belpre Awards that our library owns and links to the American Library Association pages with a complete list of the winners and history of the award.
- Dangerously Dewey Decimal For information, links, videos, and tutorials on the Dewey Decimal System. The page includes activities and lessons.
- Digital Escape Rooms Test yourself and try to escape from fun and challenging theme oriented escapes.
- Evaluating News Sources and Determining Fake News For Middle School Students Information vs. News Determining credibility and authority Fake News: Just because it is unfavorable or disliked doesn't mean it's "Fake News". What makes it Fake News is that it is a lie, is substantively untrue or, uses faulty methodology.
- Fake News The skills to determine whether a news source or image is "fake".
- Image Databases Links to sources to find images labeled for reuse
- News Sources and Links Links to news sources that are middle school appropriate
- NoodleTools NoodleTools is a citations and organization tools that allows students to collaborate and allows teachers to work with student on research projects.
- Public Library Links: MCPL & NYPL For links the the Public Library (Monroe County Public Library), the NYPL (New York Public Library) websites including access to: Overdrive, databases, collections, how to get a library card, etc.
- Safari Montage Safari Montage Links and Tutorial
- Soundzabound Links and Tutorial to Soundzabound for copyright / royalty free music and sounds
- SWANK SWANK Streaming is provided to participants in the Monroe One BOCES Instructional Multimedia Service. It offers access to a collection of up to 400 feature films for instructional use in K-12 classrooms. This collection is licensed annually (through June 30 of each year). The titles in the collection will be reevaluated each June. Please make sure that when using this resource, you adhere to any/all of your District’s policies regarding the showing/viewing of feature films in the classroom. Contact your building librarian or Liesl Toates for Login information if you do not already have it.
- TBF 2023 See the authors that will be attending the TBF this spring. TBF2021 is a virtual event. Links will take you directly into SORA Overdrive to allow you to borrow eBooks.
- Virtual Tours Links to virtual tours of national parks, zoos, and museums
- Works Cited and Citation Handbook and Defines citation, the reasons we use citation, when we must cite, when we can skip the citation, and provides access to MLA guides and citation tools. For help with the nuts and bolts of creating works cited including: MLA 8 handbook, Online Tools, Tutorials
Research Topics:
- Ancient Inventions This page offers a list of the the arguably most influential ancient inventions. It also includes associated terms, suggested web pages, and a list of the database which are the most helpful in researching these inventions.
- Finding Your Calm: Stress Relief Find calming techniques and easy strells activities at this page.
- Immigration Experience Links andi information for the Literacy 7 project on the immigrant experience. Perfect for people who are interested in the history of immigration into the United States. Contains information about the local experience.
- Ocean Research Links to pages, videos, and library resources for the study of oceans: biodiversity, pollution, the Great Garbage Patch, corral bleaching, etc.
Book Reports:
- 2 Truths and a Big Lie (I wish was true)
- Aliens on Earth - MIB Report - Book Tasting
- Catch a Great Read, Otherwise known as "Catch or Release" - Book Tasting
- Quest for the Fantasy Scrolls - Book Tasting, Fantasy Themed
- Story Maps and Organizers - Book Reports
From EnchantedLearning.com
- Suspect Casefile Report - A Mystery Themed Book Tasting
Research Topics and Teacher's Project Pages
Oceans Research for Literacy 6: Water Cycle, Water Pollution, Garbage Patch, Coral Restoration, and Invasive species
Websterschools.org > District > Staff Tools > Intranet > WCSD Technology Services > Software > WCSD Activities and Resources
Library Due Dates
Books are checked out for at least two weeks. We are happy to renew a book, but students must bring the books in to renew them. This are the upcoming dates:
March 28 (Wednesday)
April 12 (Friday)
April 26 (Friday)
Returning Books: there is a book drop outside the library door and there are return bins next to the library desk.
Evaluating News Sources & Image Databases,
For Middle School Students
Information vs. News
Determining credibility and authority
Fake News
Just because it is unfavorable or disliked doesn't mean it's "Fake News". What makes it Fake News is that it is a lie, is substantively untrue or, uses faulty methodology.
Genres For your Next Book Choice
Poetry Page links
Find your next read, Poetry links, Author pages, and Book Tastings
Find the Reader's Bill of Rights, Intellectual Freedom links, TBF, etc.
You can use your computer to:
Username: FirstintiaLastnameGradyear
Password: same as login password
- Spry Library Catalog Tutorial
- See what you have borrowed in Destiny
- Place a Hold/Reserve in Destiny
- Favorite: Create books or create a Books to Read List
- You can also use favorites to: create resources lists, keep track of books to read, projects, or books you have already read
- Write book reviews
- Suggest book purchase for our library
- Recommend books to friend
Citation Formats:
CiteForMe Citation Generator - MLA9
____________________________________________
MyBib.com is used to create formatted bibliographies, citations, and works cited automatically check sources,
- NoodleTools
Student research platform with MLA, APA and Chicago/Turabian bibliographies, notecards, outlining.
Sign on using your computer login
Works Cited & Citation Handbook:
Defines citation, the reasons we use citation, when we must cite, when we can skip the citation, and provides access to MLA guides and citation tools.
For help with the nuts and bolts of creating works cited including:
MLA 8 handbook
Online Tools
Tutorials