Virtual Tours and Travels: Washington D.C. Monuments
Take a Virtual Tour of the National Park in Washington D.C. via SAFARI Montage
National Parks Washington D.C. SAFARI Link
Did you know?: Arlington is a U.S. military cemetery.
Keywords: U.S. military, cemetery, Changing of the Guard, Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, eternal flame, caisson
Suggested Databases: Britannica School ; Gale in Context Middle ; American History Online ; WorldBook Online
Library Collection: 355.1 ; 975.5
Arlington National Cemetery by
Examines the history and current activities of the national burial place and shrine in Arlington, Virginia.
Call Number: 975.529 REEISBN: 0875184715Publication Date: 1991-11-01
Arlington National Cemetery by
Lexile: 1120. Dramatic and defining moments in American history come vividly the life in the Cornerstones of Freedom series.
Call Number: 975.5 STEISBN: 0516066250Publication Date: 1995-09-01
- Arlington National Cemetery Explore the history of Arlington National Cemetery. Visit the graves of influential American military leaders and heroes. ANC is open daily from 8am-5pm.
Did you know?
There is a Pentagon Group Burial Marker at Arlington National Cemetery?
Keywords: Arlington, Cemetery, Changing of the Guard, Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, Tomb of the Unknowns, Military, Old Guard, Sentinels, Amphitheater, Salute,
Suggested Databases: Gale in Context Middle ; Britannica School (level 2 or 3)
Library Collection: 355.1 ; 975.5 ; 975.529
The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier by
Become an eyewitness to history with the new Cornerstones of Freedom, Second Series. Rewritten and updated, with even more full-colour photographs and historical engravings than before, Cornerstones of Freedom, Second Series introduces the people and events that helped shape the United States. Don't miss a single exciting page!
Call Number: 355.1 WACISBN: 0516242156Publication Date: 2003-09-01
- Changing of the Guard Watch the time-honored tradition of the 3rd U.S, Infantry Regiment as they maintain a 24-hour vigil the tht Tomb of the Unknown Soldier.
- Tomb of the Unknown Soldier Dignitaries from all over the wold, schools, and civic groups pay tribute to America's missing service members.
The U.S. Capitol & The Capitol Building
Visit the U.S. Capitol Building
Keywords: Capitol, Congress, Senator, Representative, Legislature, Laws, Rotunda,
Suggested Databases: Britannica School, WorldBook Online
NOTE: U.S. Capitol is spelled with an O
Library Collection: 975.3 ; 917
The Capitol by
Dramatic and defining moments in American history come vividly the life in the Cornerstones of Freedom series.
Call Number: 975.3 SANISBN: 0516066269Publication Date: 1995-09-01
- Visit the U.S. Capital Learn about the role of Congress. Explore online discussions, view virtual exhibits, and "take" virtual tours of the U.S. Capitol. And plan your visit to the Capitol.
Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial
Keywords:FDR Memorial, Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial
Suggested Databases: InfoBase American History ; Britannica Student (level 3); WorldBook Online
Library Collection: 975.3
The Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial by
Dramatic and defining moments in American history come vividly the life in the Cornerstones of Freedom series.
Call Number: 975.3 PHIISBN: 0516215981Publication Date: 2000-09-01
- Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial Franklin Roosevelt remains intimately connected to the National Park Service. During a speech in 1936, President Roosevelt noted the special quality of national parks by stating that "there is nothing so American." He captured the essential truth of the agency by declaring, "the fundamental idea behind the parks...is that the country belongs to the people, that it is in process of making for the enrichment of the lives of all of us."
Official Korean War Memorial Site
Keywords: Korean, U.S. Military, Military Action, parallel, North and South Korea,
Suggested Databases: SIRS Discoverer ; Britannica Academic ; World Book Online
Library Collection: 951.904, also 975.3
The Korean War Veterans Memorial by
Dramatic and defining moments in American history come vividly the life in the Cornerstones of Freedom series.
ISBN: 0516222600Publication Date: 2002-09-01
- Korean War Veterans Memorial The Korean War Veterans Memorial was dedicated in 1995. Its Wall of Remembrance and 19 stainless steel statues commemorate the sacrifices of the millions of Americans and allied partners who fought during the Korean War. The Korean War Veterans Memorial is a unit of National Mall and Memorial Parks.
eBooks available from SORA
Go to SORA and use your Chromebook login credentials (username mmouse28 and password)
There is only one copy of these books. If you have it checked out no one else can use it. Please use this title and go back in to return the title:
If you would like to consult these books please check them out and keep them until the project is complete. There are multiple copies of these titles, but we have a limit to the circulations:
Official Lincoln Memorial Site
Keywords: Abraham Lincoln, Memorial, Civil War, Assassination, Union, Gettysburg Address, Parthenon, Slavery, Civil Rights, Martin Luther King Jr.,
Suggested Databases: SIRS Discoverer ; Britannica School ; World Book Online
Library Collection: 975.3
Lincoln Memorial by
In November 1860, Abraham Lincoln was elected as the 16th president of the United States. By the time Lincoln took office in March 1861, the country was in crisis, as 11 states had declared their intention to secede and form a new nation, the Confederate States of America. More than four bloody years of civil war followed. Lincoln managed the government's effort to put down the rebellion and restore harmony to the country, and in the process set the nation on the path toward ending slavery forever. The Lincoln Memorial on the National Mall in Washington, D.C., commemorates Lincoln's accomplishments, as well as his personal belief in the dignity and inherent equality of all people. It has been the site of many large gatherings and protests. For millions of Americans, the Lincoln Memorial remains an inspiring symbol of freedom.
Call Number: 975.3 MARISBN: 9781422231272Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The Lincoln Memorial by
Abraham Lincoln handled with finesse a situation that would have confounded a lesser leader. Not only did he guide the nation toward abolishing slavery and embracing equality for all, he encouraged healing between the Union and Confederacy at the end of the Civil War. It is for these accomplishments that Lincoln is most respected and remembered.
Call Number: 975.3 MARISBN: 1590840291Publication Date: 2004-09-01
The Lincoln Memorial by
This guide to one of Washington's landmark buildings also touches on the importance of Lincoln, as well as supplying details on the planning and construction of the monument.
Call Number: 975.3 ReeISBN: 0875186246Publication Date: 1994-04-01
Official Martin Luther King Jr. National Memorial Website
Keywords: Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial, Civil Rights Movement, Despair, Resistance, Non-violent
Suggested Databases: World Book Online ; Britannica School ; Gale in Context Middle ; SIRS Discoverer ; SIRS Issues Researcher
Library Collection : 975.3
Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial by
Lexile: 780. Young readers will love learning about the man behind this important monument and seeing his story woven into the design of Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Park.Follow Ranger Rick as he gives the youngest reader (Ages 6-7) a fun and fascinating tour of some of the most spectacular places in the United States. Stunning photos, fun and informative text, and a helpful field guide introduce the wonder of America's national parks to the youngest readers. Young readers will love learning about the man behind this important monument and seeing his story woven into the design of Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Park. They'll also explore The Civil Rights Movement, one of the most important periods in American history.
Call Number: 975.3 FITISBN: 9780531137246Publication Date: 2019-02-01
Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial by
Lexile: 280
Call Number: 975.3 RAWISBN: 9781620318706Publication Date: 2017-11-15
Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial by
Lexile: 940. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s legacy is honored with a beautiful memorial in the center of Washington, D.C., the nation's capital.A True Book: National Parks series allows readers to experience spectacular vistas and natural landscapes, as well as interact with the rich tapestry of American History. This series includes an age appropriate (grades 3-5) introduction to curriculum-relevant subjects and a robust resource section that encourages independent study.Readers will learn about King's life and accomplishments, how the memorial was planned and built, its integration with surrounding Tidal Basin monuments, and much more.
Call Number: 975.3 TAYISBN: 9780531135037Publication Date: 2019-02-01
Official U.S. Pentagon Building Website
Keyword: US Military, Office Building, defense, 9/11 (September 11) attacks, Pentagon Memorial,
Suggested Databases: Britannica School ; SIRS Discoverer ; Gale in Context Middle (Building the Pentagon)
Library Collection: 355.6-355.7
The Attack on the Pentagon on September 11, 2001 by
Twelve Important Titles Detailing Some of the Most Horrifying Terrorist Attacks Around the World Terrorism hit home for most Americans on September 11, 2001, but teens may be surprised to learn that acts of terrorism have ravaged the world for years. This dramatic series reports the details of several of modern history's most horrifying terrorist acts, and includes current theories on why individuals or groups resort to terrorism. Each book describes a terrorist act in full detail, and contains information on post-attack investigations and trials and the attack's effect on history. On September 11, 2001, before Americans could make sense of the attack on the World Trade Center towers in New York City, the unthinkable happened. A hijacked plane had crashed into another of America's great buildings: the Pentagon. This book covers the history of the Pentagon building; the crash of American Airlines Flight 77; Al Qaeda, the terrorist network behind the attack; and the efforts to rebuild the damaged Pentagon.
ISBN: 0823938581Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Pentagon by
Located in Arlington County, Virginia, the Pentagon has been the headquarters for the United States military since 1943. Its unique five-sided design houses the largest office space in the world. Learn more in Pentagon, an AV2 media enhanced book. Each AV2 media enhanced book is a unique combination of a printed book and exciting online content that brings the book to life. Readers can access embedded weblinks, audio and video clips, activities, and other features, such as a slide show, matching word activity, and quiz. Book jacket.
ISBN: 9781619132542Publication Date: 2012-06-30
The Pentagon by
Profiles the Pentagon, an enormous five-sided building in Washington, D.C. which is the headquarters for the United States Department of Defense. Includes information on the attack to the Pentagon on September 11, 2001.
ISBN: 0736825304Publication Date: 2004-01-01
- National 9/11 Pentagon Memorial The US Defense Departments own web page honoring the 184 people in the Pentagon and on American Airlines Flight 77 who perished in the September 11, 2001 terror attacks.
- Never Forget: Visit Our National Memorials Honoring 9/11 This website is part of the U.S. Department of Defense's network of support for the military community
- Pentagon Memorial - National Geographic The Pentagon Memorial was opened to the public on September 11, 2008, seven years after a plane, hijacked by terrorists, crashed into the Pentagon and killed 189 people onboard and in the building.
Did you know?
There is a Pentagon Group Burial Marker at Arlington National Cemetery?
Keywords: Vietnam, Vietnam War, Vietnam Veteran's Memorial, National Monument, Vietnamese Conflict, 1961-1975, Maya Lin (Architect)
Suggested Databases: WorldBook Online ; Gale in Context Middle
Library Collection: 959.704
The Vietnam Memorial by
A description of the Vietnam Memorial, the memorial which commemorates the American dead from the Vietnamese Conflict and which is the most visited monument in the nation's capital.
Call Number: 959.704 DEISBN: 0516242237Publication Date: 2003-09-01
The Vietnam Veterans Memorial by
Veterans of the Vietnam war, as well as the families of those who didn't make it back, were forever changed by the toll this conflict took on them. Those Americans who answered their country's call to serve in the armed forces did not get the hero's welcome they deserved when they returned home.
Call Number: 959.704 FERISBN: 1590840399Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Vietnam War Memorial by
Learn Detailed Information About The Vietnam War Memorial And Basic History Of This War.
Call Number: 959.704 BURISBN: 160694424XPublication Date: 2009-08-01
Find books available at Spry Library
WASHINGTON, DC FUN FACTS FOR KIDs - Memorials pageS
This kid friendly website is loaded with pictures and information about the monuments and memorials of Washington D.C. and nearby locations.
Keywords: George Washington, Monument, marble, quarry, capstone, obelisk, memorializes, Know-Nothings, aluminum, earthquake, Commemorative stones, Washington Monument Contribution Box ( US History)
Suggested Databases: SIRS Discoverer Britannica Student ; WorldBook Online
Library Collection: 725 ; 917 ; 975.3
Washington Monument by
George Washington played a vital role in the founding of the United States. He was commander of the Continental Army during the American Revolution, presided over the convention that drafted the U.S. Constitution, and served as the first president. To honor Washington for his contributions, in the 1840s construction began on a monument in his honor--a stone obelisk that rises more than 550 feet in the sky above the capital. It took nearly 40 years before the monument was completed. Each year, millions of people visit the Washington Monument, which represents the achievements of George Washington, and the gratitude that Americans feel toward the "Father of our Country."
Call Number: 975.3 MARISBN: 9781422231371Publication Date: 2014-01-01
White House Tour - NPS webpage
Keywords: White House, Presidential Palace, 1600 Pennsylvania Ave., President, Executive, Oval Office
Suggested Databases: Britannica School , WorldBook Online ; Gale in Context Middle
Library Collection: 973.09, 975.3
The White House by
Most people in America are familiar with the address, 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue: the location of the White House. This important landmark serves as residence for the president of the United States. Historically, it has also served as a reception site for important meetings, announcements, and celebrations.
Call Number: 975.3 MARISBN: 1590840240Publication Date: 2004-09-01
National World War II Memorial
Library Collection: 940.3-940.54, also 725Keywords: National World War II Memorial, War, World War II, World War II: Europe, World War II: Pacific, pavilion, sacrifice, bas-relief panels, columns. Also: theaters, campaigns and battles,
Suggested Databases: Gale in Context Middle ; Britannica School (level 3)
Library Collection: 940.3-940.54, also 725
The National World War II Memorial by
The National World War II Memorial is a location held dear to all Americans. Learn about this cherished symbol of Freedom in this though-provoking title.
Call Number: 940.54 SCHISBN: 1403466580Publication Date: 2005-07-14
The World War II Memorial by Call Number: 940.53 BUTISBN: 9781591978374Publication Date: 2005
The World War II Memorial by
Assuming its rightful place of honor on the National Mall between the Lincoln Memorial and the Washington Monument, the World War II Memorial is an eloquent and moving tribute to "The Greatest Generation." Sixteen million Americans served in the armed forces--more than 400,000 gave their lives--and millions supported the war effort from home, all in the name of protecting that which we, as Americans, hold most dear: freedom. The World War II Memorial, published in conjunction with the dedication of this long-overdue memorial, commemorates the everyday Americans who in countless ways rose up to defeat one of history's gravest threats to freedom. Veterans--including George H.W. Bush, Sen. Daniel Inouye, former senators Bob Dole and George McGovern, Yogi Berra, and many, many others--contribute their own personal stories while leading historians look at the military campaigns of the war. The memorial's architect and its sculptor provide insights into how it symbolizes the fortitude and perseverance of a generation, and the exclusive photographs present the memorial through all stages of construction. Fittingly, this historic tribute falls in the 60th anniversary year of D-Day, a time when our nation once again reflects on its greatest sacrifice and greatest victory in the name of freedom.
Call Number: 940.54 WORISBN: 1588342107Publication Date: 2004-05-17
WWII Memorial by
This 90 page Soft Cover Photographic Book contains exclusive images of the WWII Memorial and documents the creation and installation of the bronze and stone sculptural elements.
Call Number: 940.54 BROISBN: 0976615002Publication Date: 2005-03-25
The virtual tour allows visitors to take a virtual, 360-degree, self-guided tour of the entire museum by navigating from gallery to gallery either by using a drop-down map or by following navigational arrows connecting the individual nodes. Icons indicate hotspots where the visitor can get additional information such as videos, audio and links to online resources.
National Museum of American History
National Museum of Natural History
Smithsonian National Zoo & Conservation Biology Institute
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Smithsonian: National Museum of African American History and Culture
Keyword: African american history, African American culture
Suggested Databases: Britannica School ; SIRS Discoverer ; Gale in Context Middle (Building the Pentagon)
Smithsonian: National Air and Space Museum
Keyword: Air and Space Museum, Udvar-Hazy Center,
Suggested Databases: Britannica School ; SIRS Discoverer ; Gale in Context Middle (Building the Pentagon)
Keyword: Smithsonian Institute,
Suggested Databases: Britannica School ; SIRS Discoverer ; Gale in Context Middle (Building the Pentagon)
he Smithsonian Institution is the world’s largest museum, education, and research complex, with 21 museums and the National Zoo—shaping the future by preserving heritage, discovering new knowledge, and sharing our resources with the world.
The Institution was founded in 1846 with funds from the Englishman James Smithson (1765–1829) according to his wishes “under the name of the Smithsonian Institution, an establishment for the increase and diffusion of knowledge.” We continue to honor this mission and invite you to join us in our quest.