The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier by Roger WachtelBecome an eyewitness to history with the new Cornerstones of Freedom, Second Series. Rewritten and updated, with even more full-colour photographs and historical engravings than before, Cornerstones of Freedom, Second Series introduces the people and events that helped shape the United States. Don't miss a single exciting page!
Call Number: 355.1 WAC
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
Changing of the GuardWatch the time-honored tradition of the 3rd U.S, Infantry Regiment as they maintain a 24-hour vigil the tht Tomb of the Unknown Soldier.
Tomb of the Unknown SoldierDignitaries from all over the wold, schools, and civic groups pay tribute to America's missing service members.
The Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial by Mary Collins; Anne PhillipsDramatic and defining moments in American history come vividly the life in the Cornerstones of Freedom series.
Call Number: 975.3 PHI
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
Franklin Delano Roosevelt MemorialFranklin Roosevelt remains intimately connected to the National Park Service. During a speech in 1936, President Roosevelt noted the special quality of national parks by stating that "there is nothing so American." He captured the essential truth of the agency by declaring, "the fundamental idea behind the parks...is that the country belongs to the people, that it is in process of making for the enrichment of the lives of all of us."
The Korean War Veterans Memorial by R. Conrad Stein; Childrens Press Staff (Contribution by)Dramatic and defining moments in American history come vividly the life in the Cornerstones of Freedom series.
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
Korean War Veterans MemorialThe Korean War Veterans Memorial was dedicated in 1995. Its Wall of Remembrance and 19 stainless steel statues commemorate the sacrifices of the millions of Americans and allied partners who fought during the Korean War.
The Korean War Veterans Memorial is a unit of National Mall and Memorial Parks.
Lincoln Memorial by Hal Marcovitz; Barry Moreno (Editor)In November 1860, Abraham Lincoln was elected as the 16th president of the United States. By the time Lincoln took office in March 1861, the country was in crisis, as 11 states had declared their intention to secede and form a new nation, the Confederate States of America. More than four bloody years of civil war followed. Lincoln managed the government's effort to put down the rebellion and restore harmony to the country, and in the process set the nation on the path toward ending slavery forever. The Lincoln Memorial on the National Mall in Washington, D.C., commemorates Lincoln's accomplishments, as well as his personal belief in the dignity and inherent equality of all people. It has been the site of many large gatherings and protests. For millions of Americans, the Lincoln Memorial remains an inspiring symbol of freedom.
Call Number: 975.3 MAR
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The Lincoln Memorial by Hal MarcovitzAbraham Lincoln handled with finesse a situation that would have confounded a lesser leader. Not only did he guide the nation toward abolishing slavery and embracing equality for all, he encouraged healing between the Union and Confederacy at the end of the Civil War. It is for these accomplishments that Lincoln is most respected and remembered.
Call Number: 975.3 MAR
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
The Lincoln Memorial by Catherine ReefThis guide to one of Washington's landmark buildings also touches on the importance of Lincoln, as well as supplying details on the planning and construction of the monument.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial by Stephanie FitzgeraldLexile: 780. Young readers will love learning about the man behind this important monument and seeing his story woven into the design of Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Park.Follow Ranger Rick as he gives the youngest reader (Ages 6-7) a fun and fascinating tour of some of the most spectacular places in the United States. Stunning photos, fun and informative text, and a helpful field guide introduce the wonder of America's national parks to the youngest readers. Young readers will love learning about the man behind this important monument and seeing his story woven into the design of Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Park. They'll also explore The Civil Rights Movement, one of the most important periods in American history.
Call Number: 975.3 FIT
Publication Date: 2019-02-01
Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial by Katherine RawsonLexile: 280
Call Number: 975.3 RAW
Publication Date: 2017-11-15
Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial by Christine Taylor-ButlerLexile: 940. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s legacy is honored with a beautiful memorial in the center of Washington, D.C., the nation's capital.A True Book: National Parks series allows readers to experience spectacular vistas and natural landscapes, as well as interact with the rich tapestry of American History. This series includes an age appropriate (grades 3-5) introduction to curriculum-relevant subjects and a robust resource section that encourages independent study.Readers will learn about King's life and accomplishments, how the memorial was planned and built, its integration with surrounding Tidal Basin monuments, and much more.
The Attack on the Pentagon on September 11, 2001 by Carolyn GardTwelve Important Titles Detailing Some of the Most Horrifying Terrorist Attacks Around the World Terrorism hit home for most Americans on September 11, 2001, but teens may be surprised to learn that acts of terrorism have ravaged the world for years. This dramatic series reports the details of several of modern history's most horrifying terrorist acts, and includes current theories on why individuals or groups resort to terrorism. Each book describes a terrorist act in full detail, and contains information on post-attack investigations and trials and the attack's effect on history. On September 11, 2001, before Americans could make sense of the attack on the World Trade Center towers in New York City, the unthinkable happened. A hijacked plane had crashed into another of America's great buildings: the Pentagon. This book covers the history of the Pentagon building; the crash of American Airlines Flight 77; Al Qaeda, the terrorist network behind the attack; and the efforts to rebuild the damaged Pentagon.
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Pentagon by Steve GoldsworthyLocated in Arlington County, Virginia, the Pentagon has been the headquarters for the United States military since 1943. Its unique five-sided design houses the largest office space in the world. Learn more in Pentagon, an AV2 media enhanced book. Each AV2 media enhanced book is a unique combination of a printed book and exciting online content that brings the book to life. Readers can access embedded weblinks, audio and video clips, activities, and other features, such as a slide show, matching word activity, and quiz. Book jacket.
Publication Date: 2012-06-30
The Pentagon by Terri DeGezelleProfiles the Pentagon, an enormous five-sided building in Washington, D.C. which is the headquarters for the United States Department of Defense. Includes information on the attack to the Pentagon on September 11, 2001.
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
National 9/11 Pentagon MemorialThe US Defense Departments own web page honoring the 184 people in the Pentagon and on American Airlines Flight 77 who perished in the September 11, 2001 terror attacks.
Pentagon Memorial - National GeographicThe Pentagon Memorial was opened to the public on September 11, 2008, seven years after a plane, hijacked by terrorists, crashed into the Pentagon and killed 189 people onboard and in the building.
The Vietnam Memorial by Sarah De CapuaA description of the Vietnam Memorial, the memorial which commemorates the American dead from the Vietnamese Conflict and which is the most visited monument in the nation's capital.
Call Number: 959.704 DE
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
The Vietnam Veterans Memorial by Joseph FerryVeterans of the Vietnam war, as well as the families of those who didn't make it back, were forever changed by the toll this conflict took on them. Those Americans who answered their country's call to serve in the armed forces did not get the hero's welcome they deserved when they returned home.
Call Number: 959.704 FER
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Vietnam War Memorial by Jennifer BurrowsLearn Detailed Information About The Vietnam War Memorial And Basic History Of This War.
Washington Monument by Hal Marcovitz; Barry Moreno (Editor)George Washington played a vital role in the founding of the United States. He was commander of the Continental Army during the American Revolution, presided over the convention that drafted the U.S. Constitution, and served as the first president. To honor Washington for his contributions, in the 1840s construction began on a monument in his honor--a stone obelisk that rises more than 550 feet in the sky above the capital. It took nearly 40 years before the monument was completed. Each year, millions of people visit the Washington Monument, which represents the achievements of George Washington, and the gratitude that Americans feel toward the "Father of our Country."
The White House by Hal MarcovitzMost people in America are familiar with the address, 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue: the location of the White House. This important landmark serves as residence for the president of the United States. Historically, it has also served as a reception site for important meetings, announcements, and celebrations.
Library Collection: 940.3-940.54, also 725Keywords: National World War II Memorial, War, World War II, World War II: Europe, World War II: Pacific, pavilion, sacrifice, bas-relief panels, columns. Also: theaters, campaigns and battles,
Suggested Databases: Gale in Context Middle ; Britannica School (level 3)
The National World War II Memorial by A. Ted Schaefer; Lola M. SchaeferThe National World War II Memorial is a location held dear to all Americans. Learn about this cherished symbol of Freedom in this though-provoking title.
Call Number: 940.54 SCH
Publication Date: 2005-07-14
The World War II Memorial by Tamara L. Britton.
Call Number: 940.53 BUT
Publication Date: 2005
The World War II Memorial by Douglas Brinkley (Editor); John Eisenhower (Foreword by)Assuming its rightful place of honor on the National Mall between the Lincoln Memorial and the Washington Monument, the World War II Memorial is an eloquent and moving tribute to "The Greatest Generation." Sixteen million Americans served in the armed forces--more than 400,000 gave their lives--and millions supported the war effort from home, all in the name of protecting that which we, as Americans, hold most dear: freedom. The World War II Memorial, published in conjunction with the dedication of this long-overdue memorial, commemorates the everyday Americans who in countless ways rose up to defeat one of history's gravest threats to freedom. Veterans--including George H.W. Bush, Sen. Daniel Inouye, former senators Bob Dole and George McGovern, Yogi Berra, and many, many others--contribute their own personal stories while leading historians look at the military campaigns of the war. The memorial's architect and its sculptor provide insights into how it symbolizes the fortitude and perseverance of a generation, and the exclusive photographs present the memorial through all stages of construction. Fittingly, this historic tribute falls in the 60th anniversary year of D-Day, a time when our nation once again reflects on its greatest sacrifice and greatest victory in the name of freedom.
Call Number: 940.54 WOR
Publication Date: 2004-05-17
WWII Memorial by Stephen R. Brown (Photographer); Senator Robert Dole (Introduction by); Stephen R. Brown (Photographer)This 90 page Soft Cover Photographic Book contains exclusive images of the WWII Memorial and documents the creation and installation of the bronze and stone sculptural elements.
Call Number: 940.54 BRO
Publication Date: 2005-03-25
The virtual tour allows visitors to take a virtual, 360-degree, self-guided tour of the entire museum by navigating from gallery to gallery either by using a drop-down map or by following navigational arrows connecting the individual nodes. Icons indicate hotspots where the visitor can get additional information such as videos, audio and links to online resources.
he Smithsonian Institution is the world’s largest museum, education, and research complex, with 21 museums and the National Zoo—shaping the future by preserving heritage, discovering new knowledge, and sharing our resources with the world.
The Institution was founded in 1846 with funds from the Englishman James Smithson (1765–1829) according to his wishes “under the name of the Smithsonian Institution, an establishment for the increase and diffusion of knowledge.” We continue to honor this mission and invite you to join us in our quest.