Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Virtual Tours and Travels: Washington D.C. Monuments

Research the sights and experiences of Washington D.C. before your 8th grade trip.

 

star imagestar imagestar imagestar imagestar imagestar imagestar imagestar imagestar imagestar image

 

Take a Virtual Tour of the National Park in Washington D.C. via SAFARI Montage

National Parks DC tour SAFARI Montage Permalink

National Parks Washington D.C. SAFARI Link

Official Arlington Website

Did you know?: Arlington is a U.S. military cemetery.

Keywords: U.S. military, cemetery, Changing of the Guard, Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, eternal flame, caisson

Suggested Databases: Britannica School ;  Gale in Context Middle ; American History Online ; WorldBook Online

Spry Database Page

arlington national cemetery

Library Collection: 355.1 ; 975.5

Did you know? 

There is a Pentagon Group Burial Marker at Arlington National Cemetery?

 Tomb of the Unknown Soldier & 

Changing of the Guard

(Arlington National Cemetery)

Keywords: Arlington, Cemetery, Changing of the Guard, Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, Tomb of the Unknowns, Military, Old Guard, Sentinels, Amphitheater, Salute,

 Suggested Databases: Gale in Context Middle ; Britannica School (level 2 or 3)

Spry Database Page

arlington national cemetery tomb of the unknowns

Library Collection: 355.1 ; 975.5 ; 975.529

  The U.S. Capitol & The Capitol Building

 

Visit the U.S. Capitol Building

Keywords: Capitol, Congress, Senator, Representative, Legislature, Laws, Rotunda, 

Suggested Databases: Britannica School, WorldBook Online

Spry Database Page

NOTE: U.S. Capitol is spelled with an O

us capitol building

Library Collection: 975.3 ; 917

Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial

Keywords:FDR Memorial, Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial

Suggested Databases: InfoBase American History ; Britannica Student (level 3); WorldBook Online 

Spry Database Page

See the source image

Library Collection: 975.3

Official Korean War Memorial Site

Keywords: Korean, U.S. Military, Military Action, parallel, North and South Korea, 

Suggested Databases: SIRS Discoverer ; Britannica Academic ; World Book Online

Spry Database Page

Korean War Memorial image - 3 soldiers

Library Collection: 951.904, also 975.3

Profile Photo
Wendy Sardella
Contact:
119 South Avenue, Webster, NY 14580
585-216-0063
Website
Social: Twitter Page

eBooks available from SORA

Go to SORA and use your Chromebook login credentials (username mmouse28 and password)

There is only one copy of these books.  If you have it checked out no one else can use it.  Please use this title and go back in to return the title:

"The National Air and Space Museum" (ebook) cover  "The National Museum of Natural History" (ebook) cover

If you would like to consult these books please check them out and keep them until the project is complete.  There are multiple copies of these titles, but we have a limit to the circulations:

"Martin Luther King, Jr. National Memorial" (ebook) cover  "What's Great about Washington, DC?" (ebook) cover 

 

Official Lincoln Memorial Site

Keywords: Abraham Lincoln, Memorial, Civil War, Assassination, Union, Gettysburg Address, Parthenon, Slavery, Civil Rights, Martin Luther King Jr., 

Suggested Databases: SIRS Discoverer ; Britannica School ;  World Book Online

Spry Database Page

 lincoln memorial image

Library Collection: 975.3

Official Martin Luther King Jr. National Memorial Website

 

Keywords: Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial, Civil Rights Movement, Despair, Resistance, Non-violent

Suggested Databases: World Book Online ; Britannica School ; Gale in Context Middle ; SIRS Discoverer ; SIRS Issues Researcher

Spry Database Page

Image of martin luther king memorial washington dc

Library Collection : 975.3

Official U.S. Pentagon Building Website

Keyword: US Military, Office Building, defense, 9/11 (September 11) attacks, Pentagon Memorial, 

Suggested Databases: Britannica School ; SIRS Discoverer ; Gale in Context Middle (Building the Pentagon)

Spry Database Page

Image of pentagon

Library Collection: 355.6-355.7

Did you know? 

There is a Pentagon Group Burial Marker at Arlington National Cemetery?

Vietnam Memorial 

Keywords: Vietnam, Vietnam War, Vietnam Veteran's Memorial,  National Monument, Vietnamese Conflict, 1961-1975, Maya Lin (Architect)

Suggested Databases: WorldBook Online ; Gale in Context Middle

Spry Database Page

Vietnam Memorial at night

Library Collection: 959.704

Find books available at Spry Library

spry library catalog

WASHINGTON, DC FUN FACTS FOR KIDs - Memorials pageS

This kid friendly website is loaded with pictures and information about the monuments and memorials of Washington D.C. and nearby locations.

Washington Monument Website

 

Keywords: George Washington, Monument, marble, quarry, capstone, obelisk, memorializes, Know-Nothings, aluminum, earthquake, Commemorative stones, Washington Monument Contribution Box ( US History)

Suggested Databases: SIRS Discoverer Britannica Student ; WorldBook Online

Spry Database Page

Image of washington monument

Library Collection: 725 ; 917 ; 975.3

Official White House website

 White House Tour - NPS webpage

 

 Keywords: White House, Presidential Palace, 1600 Pennsylvania Ave., President, Executive, Oval Office

Suggested Databases: Britannica School , WorldBook Online ; Gale in Context Middle

Spry Database Page

white house

Library Collection:  973.09, 975.3

National World War II Memorial

 

Library Collection: 940.3-940.54, also 725Keywords: National World War II Memorial, War, World War II, World War II: Europe, World War II: Pacific, pavilion, sacrifice, bas-relief panels, columns. Also: theaters, campaigns and battles, 

Suggested Databases: Gale in Context Middle ; Britannica School (level 3)

Spry Database Page

Image of  national world war ii memorial washington dc

Library Collection: 940.3-940.54, also 725

 

National Museum of the Air Force Logo

 

The virtual tour allows visitors to take a virtual, 360-degree, self-guided tour of the entire museum by navigating from gallery to gallery either by using a drop-down map or by following navigational arrows connecting the individual nodes. Icons indicate hotspots where the visitor can get additional information such as videos, audio and links to online resources.

Smithsonian:  National Museum of African American History and Culture

Keyword: African american history, African American culture

Suggested Databases: Britannica School ; SIRS Discoverer ; Gale in Context Middle (Building the Pentagon)

Spry Database Page

museum of african american history

Smithsonian:  National Air and Space Museum

Keyword: Air and Space Museum, Udvar-Hazy Center, 

Suggested Databases: Britannica School ; SIRS Discoverer ; Gale in Context Middle (Building the Pentagon)

Spry Database Page

national air and space museum

Smithsonian: Institute

Keyword: Smithsonian Institute,  

Suggested Databases: Britannica School ; SIRS Discoverer ; Gale in Context Middle (Building the Pentagon)

Spry Database Page

he Smithsonian Institution is the world’s largest museum, education, and research complex, with 21 museums and the National Zoo—shaping the future by preserving heritage, discovering new knowledge, and sharing our resources with the world.

The Institution was founded in 1846 with funds from the Englishman James Smithson (1765–1829) according to his wishes “under the name of the Smithsonian Institution, an establishment for the increase and diffusion of knowledge.” We continue to honor this mission and invite you to join us in our quest.