Resources by Subject: Ancient Inventions
____________________________________
Suggested Databases:
- Britannica School (multimedia online encyclopedia)
- Ancient and Medieval History from Infobase
- World History from Gale OneFile
- Gale in Context Middle
Hint: Scan through the article and look for the section about the "history" of your time period and/or the ancient cultures we are studying.
MyBib.com -create citations for your websites, books, etc.
Books & eBooks (Ancient Inventions)
Spry Library Catalog
Ancient Chinese Technology by
The ancient Chinese were an innovative and creative people who developed some of the inventions we still use today. From fireworks to folding umbrellas, this thought-provoking volume highlights some of the most fascinating technological developments of the time. Readers will be riveted by the engaging text, vivid photographs, and detailed explanations of the progression of technology throughout this pioneering age. The text covers ancient Chinese advances in warfare, metallurgy, porcelain, silk, paper, tea, and more. Lively text will keep readers interested and leave them eager to learn more.
Call Number: (eBook)ISBN: 9781477789001Publication Date: 2016-07-15
Ancient Machines by
Ancient cultures left a rich legacy of mechanical knowledge and technology. This book tells the story of their contributions and examines the six basic machine, the lever, wheel and axle, inclined plane, the pulley, the wedge and the screw which all form the basis of machinery today.
Call Number: 621.8 WOOISBN: 0822529947Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Ancient Mesopotamian Technology by
When we think of technology, we might think only of our modern tools, such as electronics, computers, and cutting-edge gadgets, but civilizations throughout the ages have used technology to improve their lives. This informative resource will reveal that the ancient Mesopotamians were an innovative and forward-thinking people. They solved societal problems, such as regulating water to make sure they had a ready supply when they needed it. Readers will also be engaged throughout the volume with descriptions of their technological achievements, such as the construction of their cities, ziggurats, transportation, and weapons, just to name a few.
Call Number: 609.35 HOL (eBook)ISBN: 9781477789490Publication Date: 2016-07-15
The Early Inventions by
Medical malpractice suits today can result in multi-million-dollar settlements, and a practicing physician can pay $100,000 or more annually for malpractice insurance. Some complain that lawyers and plaintiffs are overcompensated by exorbitant judgments that add to the rising cost of health care. But there has been very little evidence to show whether these arguments are true. In this timely work, six experts in health policy, law, and medicine study nearly 200 malpractice claims to show that, contrary to popular perceptions, victims of malpractice are not overcompensated and our legal system for dealing with malpractice claims is not defective. The authors survey claims filed in Florida between 1986 and 1989 by people who suffered permanent injury or death during birth or during treatment in an emergency room. How often did illegitimate claims result in financial awards? What was the relation between the injury and the amount the patient lost economically? How much did the plaintiffs actually recover? How did the claimants choose their lawyers and what kind of relationship did they have? Contrary to common perceptions, in the majority of cases the claims were merited, and the authors found that claimants were on average substantially undercompensated—only about one-fifth of plaintiffs recovered more than their economic loss caused by injury or death. The evidence in this book suggests that placing dollar limits on malpractice cases is unjustified and that our tort system is not so faulty after all.
Call Number: 609 INGISBN: 9780791027660Publication Date: 1995-03-01
Inventions by
Featuring color diagrams, reconstructions, and cutaways, this beautifully illustrated series from internationally acclaimed designer and creator, David Salariya, presents a survey of historical topics from their beginnings to the present. Each book traces the development of a theme over time while examining the historic conditions and the needs, skills, and technology of the people living at each stage of the process. In addition to an illustrated timeline, each book includes a glossary and an index.
Call Number: 609 TURISBN: 053115713XPublication Date: 1994-04-01
Living in Ancient Egypt by
Focuses on an ideal period set some time in the later Pharaonic Era. This book examines several aspects of daily life across various strata of Egyptian society, from the priestly caste to the lowliest peasant farmer and the slaves, from food to religious beliefs.
Call Number: (eBook) 938 BANISBN: 9781438135403Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Living in Ancient Greece by
Focuses on an ideal period set some time in the Classical period of Perikles. This book examines several aspects of daily life across various strata of Greek society, from the aristoi to the Metics and slaves; from food to religious beliefs. It is useful for students who want to learn more about living in ancient Greece.
Call Number: (eBook) 938 LIVISBN: 9781438135410Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Living in Ancient Rome by
Focuses on an ideal period set some time in the Imperium of Hadrian. This book examines various aspects of daily life across the strata of Roman society. Coverage includes: the Roman family, The Roman Calendar, Roman goods and water supply, and more. It is a useful tool for students who want to learn more about living in ancient Rome.
Call Number: (eBook) 937 LIVISBN: 9781438135434Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Abacus
Search:
Abacus: Britannica School (level 2, 3) ; WorldBook Online ; Research in Context Middle (see Reference)
Webpages:
Abacus: A Brief History from Babylon to Japan
Abacus: A Brief History - Reyerson University
The Complete History of the Abacus - History Computer
Archey
Associated words: Archery, Bows, Arrows, longbows. crossbows
Search:
Archery ; WorldBook Online ; Britannica School (levels 1, 2, 3) ; Gale in Context Middle
Webpages:
Archery - Kidcyber
Archery - SoftSchools.com
Archery History-From Ancient Archery to Modern Sport - History of Archery
Archery in Archaic Greece - Todd Davis, Columbia Academic Commons
Arches
Associated words: Arch and Arches, bridges, construction
Search:
Arch: Gale in Context Middle (see Reference) ; Infobase Ancient and Medieval World ; WorldBook Online
Webpages:
Arch Facts for Kids - Kiddle
Now dig deeper: The History of Architecture in Eleven Arches - Architectural Review
Calendar
Associated Words: Calendars, Gregorian Calendar, Julian Calendar, Mayan Calendar
Search:
Calendar: Britannica School (Level 2 or 3) ; InfoBase Ancient and Medieval History ; WorldBook Online
Webpages:
Ancient and Modern Calendars - Easy Science for Kids
Ancient China: Calendar - Ducksters
Roman Calendars - HistoryforKids
Now dig deeper: History of the Calendar - Calendar
Catapult
Associated words: Catapult, siege weapon, trebuchet, ballista, castles, fortified walls
Search:
Catapult: WorldBook Online ; Britannica School (level 2) ; Gale in Context (see Reference)
Webpages:
Catapult Facts for Kids - Kiddle
Catapult - AcademicKids
History of Catapults - Physics of Catapults
History of the Catapult - StormTheCastle
Chariot
Search:
Chariot: InfoBase Ancient and Medieval History ; WorldBook Online ; Britannica Academic
Webpages:
Chariot - AcademicKids
Chariot Facts for Kids - Kiddle
Now dig deeper: Chariot Racing—Ancient Rome’s Most Dangerous Sport:- Great Courses Daily
The City / Cities
Associated words: City, cities, metropolitan, urban, community
Search
Cities: InfoBase Ancient and Medieval History
City: Britannica School (levels 2 & 3 are different articles) ; WorldBook Online
Webpages:
City Facts for Kids - Kiddle
Ancient Egypt: Cities - Ducksters
The City of Rome - HistoryForKids
Compass
Associated words: Compass, Direction, Focus, Lodestar, Magnetism, Navigation, Polestar
Search:
Compass: Infobase Ancient and Medieval History ; Gale in Context Middle (see Reference) ; Britannica School (level 3) ; WorldBook Online
Webpages:
Early Chinese Compass: 400 B.C. - Magnetic Academy
History of the Compass - FourGreatInventions
Invention of the Compass - History of the Compass
Concrete
Associated Words: Cement, Concrete, Portland Cement, Hydraulic Cement, Building materials, pozzolana
Concrete: Britannica School (level 2)
Cement: Britannical School (level 2, 3), Gale in Context Middle (Reference)
Webpages:
Concrete facts for Kids (Kiddle)
History of Concrete and Cement from ThoughtCo. (adult)
Timeline of Concrete and Cement - Concrete Network
Dig Deeper with caution using the Gale Power Search: An example of the results include Roman Cement: The History of Exotic Cement is so Relevant... from the Journal Walls & Ceilings
Cuneiform
Associated words: Cuneiform, Writing system, wedge, tablet symbols
Search:
Cuneiform or Cuneiform writing: Britannica School (2, 3) ; Research in Context: Middle (Reference: Gale Middle School Online Collection
Babylonia and Assyria, (The Sumerian Writing System, Sumerian Schools) : Britannica School- Level 2)
Democracy
Associated words: Democracy, Democratic, Government, Citizen, Demos, Legislature, Senate, Election
Search:
Democracy: Britannica School (3, 2)
Domestic Animals
(Domestication of Animals)
Associated words: domesticated animals, domestication, farms, livestock, (cattle, sheep, pigs, goats, horses, dogs, cats)
Search:
Domesticated Animal: Britannica School (Level 2)
Domestication of Animals: InfoBase Ancient and Medieval History
Webpages:
10 Facts About Domestic Animals - Fact File
Ancient Roman Animals: The history of animals in Italy - Explore Italian Culture
Domestication - National Geographic
Now dig deeper: Animals of Ancient Egypt - Nikki Brabaw, Anthropology from MSU
Fire
Associated words: Fire, flames, cooking, smelting, combustion, ignition, burn
Search:
Fire: Britannica School (Level 3) ; WorldBook Online
Early Fire; SIRS DIscoverer
https://www.worldbookonline.com/student-new/#/article/home/ar197340/fire
https://online.infobase.com/HRC/Search/Details/7?articleId=215237&q=fire%20control
Webpages:
Control of Fire by Early Humans - from Kiddle
How Fire Was Discovered - Wonderopolis
When Did Humans Discover Fire? The Answer Depends on What You Mean by "Discover" - Time.com
Geometry
Associated words: Geometry, Mathematics, Math in (Egypt, Greece)
Search:
Geometry: WorldBook Online (see History) ; Britannica School (level 3) ; Gale in Context Middle (see Reference section)
Gunpowder
Associated terms: Gunpowder, Weapon, Firearms, Black Powder, Explosive(s), Fireworks and Signals
Search:
Gunpowder: Britannica School (2) ; Gale in Context Middle (Reference, or other)
Kite
Associated words: Kite or kites
Search:
Kite: WorldBook Online ; Britannica School (level 3)
Webpages:
Chinese Kites - History and Culture - China Highlights
Kite Facts for Kids - Kiddle
Who Invented the Kite? - Wonderopolis
Now dig deeper: Kites in the Classroom, Kites: A brief history for students and teachers -Batchelors
Locks
Associated words: Lock, locks ; Lock and key, lock (security)
Search:
Lock: WorldBook Online, Britannica Academic
Lock and Key: Britannica School (level 3, level 2 -see History)
Webpages:
Now dig deeper:.
An Introduction to the History of Locks - Accurate Security Pros
5 Important Locks Throughout History - Chris Strauss
Dictionary of Lock Related Words - Historical Locks
Mathematics
Associated words: Math, Mathematics, Algebra, Geometry, zero, Arithmetic
Search:
Mathematics: Britannica School (level 2 and 3) ; WorldBook Online ; InfoBase: Ancient & Medieval History (very detailed)
Webpages:
: The History of Mathematics - KidsMathGamesOnline
History of Mathematics Facts for Kids - Kiddle (Contains mostly images with captions explaining)
Curious Kids: how was maths discovered? Who made up the numbers and rules? - The Conversation
History of Mathematics - Academic Kids
.jpg)
Webpages:
History of Newspaper Publishing and Printing
Now dig deeper with a A Brief History of the Newspaper from Quintype
Olympics
Associated words: Olympics, competitions, Olympic games
Olympics: Britannica School (Level 2) & for extensive article Britannica School (Level 3)
Webpages:
Let the Games Begin: Get the Scoop on the History of the Olympics - National Geographic for kids
Ancient Greece: Olympics - Ducksters
The Ancient History of the Olympics - Kids Club (New Zealand)
Paper
Associated words: paper, pulp, woodpulp, (Other: papyrus, bambo, vellum, silk, tablets, cotton)
Search:
Paper: Brittanica School ; WorldBook Online
Webpages:
Paper- KidCyber
Paper Facts for Kids - Kiddle
Now dig deeper: The Invention of Paper - from Thought Company
Plow (Plough)
Associated words: Plow, Plough, furrow, agriculture or farming, planting, irrigation, oxen, share (mainshare), soil or dirt, hoe(s), pick or spade.
Search:
Plow - Britannica School (Level 2) ; WorldBook Online ; Gale in Context Middle (Reference)
Webpages:
Plough Facts for Kids (Kiddle)
Dig deeper using the page intended for adult readers: A Brief History of the Plough (Society of Ploughmen) -
Plumbing
Associated words: Plumbing, sanitation, water
Search:
Plumbing: WorldBook Online : Britannica School (Level 2)
Porcelain
Associated words: Porcelain, pottery, kiln, clay, stoneware, earthenware, potter
Search:
Pottery and Porcelain: Britannica School (level 2 or 3) ; WorldBook Online
Pottery or porcelain: Gale in Context (Select Document Type: Articles, Transcripts, documents, etc.)
Webpages:
Porcelain Facts for Kids - Kiddle
Chinese Potter - DKFindout
Egyptian Pottery - History for Kids
Now dig deeper with Deen Pottery's History
Printing Press
Associated words: Printing, Printing Press, Block Printing, Johann Gutenberg
Search:
Printing: WorldBook Online (see History) ; Britannica School (level 3 and 2) ; InfoBase Ancient and Medieval History
Printing Press (Printing, in China) ; InfoBase Ancient and Medieval History
Printing Press (Gutenberg, Johannes): InfoBase Ancient and Medieval History
Webpages:
Printing Facts for Kids - Kddle
A BRIEF HISTORY OF PRINTING. FROM THE 15TH CENTURY TO TODAY - Pexart PrintingWeb
Roman Roads
Associated words: Roman Roads, Apian Way, Aqueducts
Search:
Roman Roads:
Ancient Rome: Britannica School (level 2), see - Two Centuries of Peace and Prosperity
Roman Road Systems: Britannica Academic
Rome: Britannica School (level 2)
Appian Way: Britannica School (level 2, 3)
Webpages:
Roman Roads in Britain facts for Kids - Kiddle
Now dig deeper: 8 Ways Roads Helped Rome Rule the Ancient World - History.com
The Unseen History of Our Roads -RoadandTrack
Silk
Associated Words: Silk Road (history of the silk trade)
Search:
Silk: Britannica School (level 3), (Level 2- see- history) ; WorldBook Online
Tea
Associated words: Tea, brew, Chinese Camellia, Tisane
Search:
Tea : Gale in Context Middle ; Britannica School)
Webpages:
Tea: Ancient China for Kids (Mr Donn)
Dig Deeper "with caution" by reading this page intended for adults: The History of Tea from Coffeeteawarehouse
Wheel
Associated words: Wheel(s), axel, roads, chariots
Search:
Wheel: Britannica School (Level 2) ; Gale in Context Middle (Reference) ; Infobase Ancient & Medieval History
Webpages:
The Wheel - Pitara
Wheel Facts for Kids - Kiddle
KIDS’ BLOG! The Invention of the Wheel: How the Ancient Sumerians Got Humanity Rollin’! - AntiquityNow