Resources by Subject: Greek Mythology

Return to Spry LibGuides Homepage

Spry Databases

Webpages

Greek Gods and Goddesses (Greek Gods, Goddesses, Heroes, Myths and Creatures) from Greek Gods and Goddesses

Greek Mythology - ClipArt ETC - The Greek Mythology ClipArt gallery offers 420 illustrations of ancient Greek religion and mythology. Many of the stories told of their numerous gods were told in myths alongside humans, usually offering aid. License.

Books in Our Library

Greek Mythology Escape Room from Stanislaus County Library

Virtual Escape Rooms

Bethlehem Library Virtual Escape Rooms

The Hooksett Public Library has created three great virtual escape rooms.

The first two escape rooms are mythology based and the third is finding hidden treasure in a library. Virtual Escape Room:

The Trial of Camp Half-Blood    

Prometheus Escape Room – inspired by Greek Mythology 

Virtual Escape Room: The Hidden Depths of HPL (Hooksett Public Library, I believe)

Aphrodite

Greek name: Aphrodite

Roman name: Venus

Role: love, beauty, pleasure

Sacred animals: doves and sparrows

Symbol: dolphin, rose, scallop shell, myrtle, girdle, mirror, pearl

_________________________

Aphrodite: Greek Goddess of Love, Beauty and Eternal Youth- Greek Gods and Goddesses (includes citation at the bottom of the page)

Apollo

Greek name: Apollo

Roman name: Apollo

Role: Role: Archery, light, healing, poetry and music, prophecy

Sacred animals: roe deer, swans, pythons

Symbols: lyre, laurel wreath, python, raven, swan, bow and arrows

_________________________

Apollo: God of the Sun, the Light, the Music and Prophecy- Greek Gods and Goddesses (citation included at the bottom of the page)

Ares

Greek name: Ares

Roman name: Mars

Role: war, courage, brutality

Sacred animals: vultures, venomous snakes, dogs, boars

Symbols: sword, spear, shield, helmet, chariot

________________________

Ares: Greek God of War - greekgodsnadgoddesses.net (includes citation at bottom of page)

Artemis

Greek name: Artemis

Roman name: Diana

Role: wild animals, the hunt, vegetation, and chastity and childbirth

Sacred animals: deer

Symbols: bow and arrow, chariots, spears, nets, lyre

_________________________

Artemis - Ducksters

Now Dig Deeper:

Artemis (Mythopedia)

Artemis: Goddess of Hunting - Greek Gods and Goddesses (includes citation at the bottom of the page)

Athena

Greek name: Athena

Roman name: Minerva

Role: defense of Athens, wisdom, women's crafts

sacred animals: owl

Symbols: spear, distaff, and the aegis (shield of goatskin with the head of Medusa attached)

_________________________

Athena: Greek Goddess of Wisdom and War - Greek Gods and Goddesses (includes citation at the bottom of the page)

Demeter

Greek name: Demeter

Roman name: Ceres

Role:  harvest, sacred law, cycle of life and death

Sacred animals: pigs, snakes

Symbols: wheat, cornucopia

_________________________

Demeter: Greek Goddess of Agriculture,Fertility, Sacred Law and the Harvest - Greek Gods and Goddesses

Dionysus

Greek name: Dionysus

Roman name: Bacchus

Role: grape harvest, winemaking and wine, fertility, orchards and fruit, vegetation, insanity, festivity and theatre

Sacred Animals: dolphin, serpent, tiger, donkey

Symbols: thyrsus, grapevine, ivy, goat, masks, chalice

_________________________

Dionysus: Greek God of Wine and the Grape Harvest- Greek Gods and Goddesses (includes citation at the bottom of the page

Dionysus - Mr Donn's Class

Hades

Greek name: Hades

Roman name: Pluto

Role: dead, ruler of the underworld, wealth and riches

Sacred animals: screech owl, serpents, black rams

Symbols: barn owl, serpents, white poplar trees, narcissus, pomegranate, cypress tree, Kerberos (Cerberus), mint, asphodel plant

_________________________

Hades: Greek God of the Dead and King of the Underworld - greegodsandgoddesses.net (includes citation at the bottom of the page)

Aphrodite: Greek Goddess of Love, Beauty and Eternal Youth - Greek Gods and Goddesses (citation included at the bottom of the page) 

Hephaestus

Greek name: Hephaestus

Roman name: Vulcan

Role: fire, blacksmiths, craftsmen, volcanoes, and maker of all the gods weapons, jewelry, and armor

Sacred animals: donkey, guard dog, crane

Symbols: fire, axe, tongs and hammer

_________________________

Hephaestus: Greek God of Fire and Metalworking - greekgodsandgoddesses.net (includes page citation at bottom)

Hephaestus: Greek God of Blacksmiths and Fire - Greekmythology.com

Hephaistos - theoi.com

Hera

Greek Name: Hera

Roman Name: Juno

Role: wife of Zeus and queen of heaven, marriage, life of women

Sacred animals: peacock, cow, cuckoo

Symbols: diadem, scepter and pomegranate, fertility, lily

_________________________

Hera: Greek Goddess of Marriage and Queen of Olympus - Greek Gods and Goddesses (includes citation at the bottom of the page)

Hermes

Greek name: Hermes

Roman name: Mercury

Role: Herald of the gods, soul guide, and protector of human heralds, travelers, thieves, merchants, and orators.

Sacred animals: tortoise

Symbols: Talaria (winged sandals), Petasos (winged helmet), Caduceus (short staff entwined by two snakes), satchel, lyre

_________________________

Facts About Hermes (Talesbeyondbelief.com)  

Hermes (Historyforkids.net)  

Hermes: Greek God of Trade, Eloquence an d Messenger of the Gods - Greek Gods and Goddess (includes citation at the bottom of the page)

The LIttle Rascal: Hermes (Classical Mythology  

Hestia

Greek name: Hestia

Roman name: Vesta

Role: virgin goddess of the hearth, domesticity, family, home

Sacred animals: donkey

Symbols: hearth and it's fire

_________________________

Hestia: Greek Goddess of the Hearth and Domestic Life - Greek Gods and Goddesses

Medusa

Greek Name: Medusa

Role: Monster of mythology, Medusa was a mortal, Medusa was once a beautiful maiden.

Symbols: Medusa was slayed by Perseus, who places her severed head on his shield to petrify his enemies in battle.

_________________________

Medusa - Greek Gods and Goddesses (includes citation at the bottom of the page)

Pegasus

Greek Name: Pegasus

Role: 

Mythical Creature: White stallion with wings.  Born from the blood of Medusa, both Pegasus and his human brother Chrysaor are also the sons of Poseidon.

Symbol: Poetry

_________________________

Pegasus- Greek Gods and Goddesses (incudes citation at the bottom of the page)

Poseidon

Greek name: Poseidon

Roman name: Neptune

Role:sea and rivers, creator of storms and floods, bringer of earthquakes and destruction

Sacred animals: dolphin, horse

Symbols: triden, fish, dolphin, horse, bull

_________________________

Poseidon: Greek God of the Sea - Greek Gods and Goddesses (citation included at the bottom of the page)

Zeus

Greek name: Zeus

Roman name: Jupiter

Sacred animals: bull, eagle

_________________________

Zeus: Greek God of the Sky and King of the Gods - Greek Gods and Goddesses (citation included at the bottom of the page)

Persephone

Greek name: Persephone

Roman name: Proserpina

Symbol: pomegranate, seeds of grain, torch

Sacred animal: deer

_________________________

Persephone- Greek Gods and Goddesses (includes citation at the bottom of the page)