Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

East Rochester MLA/Senior High Library: Global 9E - Classical Civilizations

Library Databases

Library Databases

The library subscribes to resources called library databases. These are an excellent place to begin your research.

 

World Book Encyclopedia 

(user name: ermiddle, password:  1monroe)

Encyclopedia Britannica      

There may be multiple articles on the civilization you are researching. 

World History in Context   

(password: bombers)

 

Classical India Websites

Classical India Websites 

Below are suggested sites with information on Classical India. 

 

Mauryan Empire

Ancient History Encyclopedia - https://www.ancient.eu/

There is a general article on the Mauryan Empire in the Ancient History Encyclopedia, but you can also search for more specific topics. Search Mauryan in the search box to see the different articles. 

More Sites:

http://www.iloveindia.com/history/ancient-india/maurya-dynasty/index.html

https://www.indianetzone.com/5/maurya_dynasty.htm

 
 

Gupta Empire

Ancient History Encyclopedia - https://www.ancient.eu/

There is a general article on the Gupta Empire in the Ancient History Encyclopedia, but you can also search for more specific topics. Search Gupta in the search box to see the different articles. 

More Sites:

http://www.ushistory.org/civ/8e.asp

https://www.historybits.com/gupta.htm

http://www.iloveindia.com/history/ancient-india/gupta-dynasty.html

 

Ancient Rome Websites

Ancient Rome Websites

Ancient History Encyclopedia - https://www.ancient.eu/

There is a general article on ancient Rome in the Ancient History Encyclopedia, but you can also search for a specific topic. Ex. Roman architecture, Roman engineering.


 

Ancient Greece Websites

 

Ancient Greece Websites

Ancient History Encyclopedia https://www.ancient.eu/

There is a general article on ancient Greece in the Ancient History Encyclopedia, but you can also search for a specific topic. Ex. Greek architecture, Greek engineering.