Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

East Rochester MLA/Senior High Library: Library Databases (Passwords)

Return to Home page button

Library Databases

Please contact Ms. Luce if you have any questions about any of these resources.  

Click here for passwords.

A Great Place to Start

Gale in Context: High School

A great place to begin researching a wide variety of topics. Includes articles from encyclopedias, newspapers, and magazines.

Password: bombers

Gale in Context: Middle School

This is a great database aimed at middle school, but also good for high school students.

Password: bombers

Britannica School

Britannica School is a great place to find articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended Web sites.

No password needed

World Book

A general encyclopedia on many topics. Great place to start researching. Information on many different topics

Username: ermiddle
Password: 1monroe

 

Best for MLA Research

Gale in Context: Middle School

This is a great database aimed at middle school, but also good for high school students.

Password: bombers

FactCite

A great place to find biographies, American history, science and mythology.

Username: erhigh
Password: bombers

Britannica School

Britannica School is a great place to find articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended Web sites.

No password needed

World Book

A general encyclopedia on many topics. Great place to start researching. Information on many different topics

Username: ermiddle
Password: 1monroe

 

Biographies (aka People)

Fact Cite

A great place to find biographies, American history, science and mythology.

Username: erhigh
Password: bombers

 

For Teachers

TeachingBooks

Login as a student.
Leave username blank.
Password: monroe1boces

Safari Montage

Login using SchoolTool username and password

BrainPop

Username: eres
Password: brainpop

BrainPop ESL

Username: eres
Password: brainpop

 

English Literature

 

Bloom's Literature

Bloom's Literature provides overviews, synopses, analyses, and literary criticism of thousands of works.

Username: erhigh
Password: bombers

Gale eBooks

Contains many electronic books on literature topics, including the reference series Short Stories for Students.

Password: bombers

Gale Literature Criticism Online

Provides the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available.

(This is offered through the public library. You must use your public library card information to use this database.)

 

 

Controversial Topics

Issues and Controversies

Online library of current event topics.

Username: erhigh
Password: bombers

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Articles on controversial topics.

Password: bombers

 

History

FactCite

A great place to find biographies, American history, science and mythology.

Username: erhigh
Password: bombers

World History: Ancient/Medieval

Username:rochester
Password: @library1

World History: The Modern Era

Username:rochester
Password: @library1

American History

Username:rochester
Password: @library1

World Religions

Username:rochester
Password: @library1

 

E-Book Collection

Gale eBooks

Password: bombers

Sora (Audiobooks and ebooks)

Sign into the Monroe #1 BOCES Digital Library to check out eBooks and Audiobooks anytime.

 

Careers

Career Cruising

Information on careers and colleges.

Username: east
Password: rochester

 

People and Cultures

Culture Grams

Information on countries and US states.

Username: erochester
Password: elem