Skip to Main Content

2024 Total Solar Eclipse: Databases

NewsBank

access world news

From the homepage, scroll down to the Suggested Topics and select Science. Then, click on Eclipses. Browse the 24,000+ results or alter the search to limit to solar eclipses using the change shown below. Results are slightly lower (20,500+) and range from 1980 - present. Use additional filters to limit by date, source type, publication year, language, or Lexile.

Don't forget about their Lesson Plan Archive where you can search for and find lesson plans on solar eclipses.

 

From the homepage, click on Keyword Search and enter "total solar eclipse."

Browse through thousands of articles from 1860 through 2000 that discuss total solar eclipses in the US. Narrow by place of publication to individual states or even cities.

research rocket

From the homepage, click on Science, then select Eclipses, the Sun, Solar System, Stars and Planets, Space Exploration, or NASA to learn more about eclipses and space.

Or, use the search box to search for "solar eclipse" to get results from the most recent issues of Girls' LifeMuseScout Life, and more.

Find an article you like? Browse the whole magazine! See what magazines are available to flip through by searching the A-Z Source List for the term "browse." 34 magazines are available this way including Boys' LifeEco Kids PlanetGirls' LifeHigh FiveHighlightsJack and Jill, and more.

BrainPOP

Brain POP is an award-winning, animated educational resource, including hundreds of standards-aligned animated topics. Subscription also includes puzzles and games, Make-a-Map, and access to My BrainPOP! For grades 3 through 12.

BrainPOP has an entire lesson on solar eclipses including an animated video, worksheet, quiz, vocab list, graphic organizers, related readings, and so much more. Click the image below to explore eclipses with Moby. Click here to see the lesson plan for levels 3-5 and 6-8.

Please note not all districts purchase WorldBook. If your district purchases this, but you need access information please see your librarian.

WorldBook

WorldBook Kids

Learn all about eclipses from WorldBook Kids through images, video, and a brief article (810 Lexile) with a read-along. See more information at a higher reading level by clicking the link to WorldBook Student. See the French translation by clicking the link to L'Encyclopédie Découverte.

WorldBook Student

Learn what an eclipse is, when they occur, the differences between solar and lunar eclipses, and the study of eclipses. Watch 2 videos and view a table of all total solar eclipses from 1995 - 2027. Play the Eclipses & Seasons game with a Ms. Frizzle-like teacher narrator. Answer questions, take quizzes, and use interactive models to advance through each of 10 mini-games. 

WorldBook Advanced

Besides keyword searching, make sure to use the different tabs to explore more information about eclipses. See the Back in Time tab for articles on historical solar and astronomical events; the Resource Guides tab for linked articles, selected media, and study questions; Images; Tables; and more. 

PebbleGo

Please note not all districts purchase PebbleGo. If your district purchases this, but you need access information please see your librarian.

Pebble Go

PebbleGo features hundreds of articles that introduce young researchers to the world around them. Leveled text, educational games, lesson plans and videos support educational research concepts for your youngest researchers. Learn about the sun here

Please note not all districts purchase PebbleGo Next. If your district purchases this, but you need access information please see your librarian.

 

PebbleGo Next! is the perfect resource for upper elementary students.
Learn about the solar system, planets, stars, sun, and eclipses through PebbleGo Next! 

Includes a video, an activity idea, definitions, and more. 
 

Gale

Gale Elementary

Gale - Elementary in Context can be browsed visually by topic and contains encyclopedia-type articles with quick facts, articles from books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as pictures and videos. 

Click on Science, then Space and Astronomy, then choose Eclipses from the menu.

 

Gale Middle School database

Aimed at grades 6 - 8, Gale - Middle School in Context covers categories like cultures, geography, government, literature, people, science, social issues, history, and more. Topics include reference materials, magazine articles, images, videos, audio, and links to related content.

Use the Browse Topics tab to explore eclipses and then the solar system, the galaxy, and the universe with topics like:

The Gale - High School In Context database offers easy access to interdisciplinary topics and covers the major subject areas, including biography, geography, history, government, literature, science and health, and social studies, allowing students to create connections between subject areas and to truly put topics into larger cultural, social, and historical context. 

Use the Browse Topics tab to explore space by topic. Use the Search Within Results feature to find detailed information on eclipses within your topic. 

 

 

Gale Science database

Gale's Science in Context (SCIC) supports high school curricula and university coursework and features authoritative information for science assignments and projects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics, science history, and biography, this curriculum-oriented online experience is designed to boost achievement for students and researchers and assist educators in creating lesson plans and units of study. The advanced search allows for researchers to filter by content type, publication dates, content level, and publication.

Use the search to find thousands of results for "solar eclipse" from newspapers, academic journals, magazines, reference texts, audio, video, and more. 

Use the Topic Finder to find related results or narrow your focus, visit the curated topic page on eclipses, or explore some of the unique results like project and experiment how-tos to understand the eclipse, a segment from NPR's Morning Edition on what astronomical events are upcoming in 2023 - including the total solar eclipse, and a timeline of major solar eclipses from 3340 BCE through 2024 CE.

Britannica


Britannica elementary logo

 

Make sure to use the Reading Level slider at the top of the search page to find different or more complex entries and resources on solar eclipses.
See how the content changes depending on level below:

Also, make sure to utilize the filters to switch from just articles to images, videos, magazines, and lesson plans.

As the date of the eclipse grows nearer, check back to the Britannica School Elementary home page for special features and a curated page. 

 

Big thanks go out to Lisa Brigandi and the Monroe 2 BOCES School Library System, who designed this LibGuide and gave us permission to use it.


Make sure to use the Reading Level slider at the top of the search page to find more, different, or more complex entries and resources on solar eclipses.
See how the content changes depending on level below:

Also, make sure to utilize the filters to switch from just articles to images, videos, magazines, and lesson plans.

As the date of the eclipse grows nearer, check back to the Britannica School Middle home page for special features and a curated page.

 

Big thanks go out to Lisa Brigandi and the Monroe 2 BOCES School Library System, who designed this LibGuide and gave us permission to use it.


Make sure to use the Reading Level slider at the top of the search page to find more, different, or more complex entries and resources on solar eclipses. Don't forget to try the other search filters such as images, videos, and the options under the "more" tab. The magazines option under "more" includes guides for educators from sources like Science TeacherScience Scope, and Science & Children magazines.

 

Big thanks go out to Lisa Brigandi and the Monroe 2 BOCES School Library System, who designed this LibGuide and gave us permission to use it.

Britannica Launch Packs - Science offer topic-based collections of articles, videos, images, websites, maps, and primary sources that have been curated by Britannica editors and are linked to curriculum standards. Articles are available in up to 3 reading levels (and readers can choose their own level once they open the article) giving you an easy way to differentiate content for all learners. The articles have many of the same features as Britannica School’s online encyclopedia, including a read-aloud function, translation via Google Translate, and digital highlighting and note-taking. Videos in the content sets can be viewed on the spot or downloaded for later use; and all resources include complete citations for students to use in their bibliographies. 

LaunchPacks on eclipses are available for grades PreK-2, 3-5, 6-8, and 9-12. LaunchPacks on just the sun, the moon, or the solar system are also available for all grade levels.

 

Big thanks go out to Lisa Brigandi and the Monroe 2 BOCES School Library System, who designed this LibGuide and gave us permission to use it.