SORA Always Available Books: Young Adult Non-Fiction
"Always Available" books are available for checkout to an unlimited number of students at the same time.
YA Non-Fiction
Bryce Harper by ISBN: 9781635171990Publication Date: 2017-01-01Introduces readers to the life and career of baseball star Bryce Harper. Colorful spreads, fun facts, interesting sidebars, and a map of important places in his life make this a thrilling read for young sports fans.
Jordan Spieth by ISBN: 9781635172034Publication Date: 2017-01-01Introduces readers to the life and career of star golfer Jordan Spieth. Colorful spreads, fun facts, interesting sidebars, and a map of important places in his life make this a thrilling read for young sports fans.
Kevin Durant by ISBN: 9781635171983Publication Date: 2017-01-01Introduces readers to the life and career of basketball star Kevin Durant. Colorful spreads, fun facts, interesting sidebars, and a map of important places in his life make this a thrilling read for young sports fans.
Kris Bryant by ISBN: 9781635171976Publication Date: 2017-01-01Introduces readers to the life and career of baseball star Kris Bryant. Colorful spreads, fun facts, interesting sidebars, and a map of important places in his life make this a thrilling read for young sports fans.
Patrick Kane by ISBN: 9781635172003Publication Date: 2017-01-01Introduces readers to the life and career of hockey star Patrick Kane. Colorful spreads, fun facts, interesting sidebars, and a map of important places in his life make this a thrilling read for young sports fans.
Von Miller by ISBN: 9781635172010Publication Date: 2017-01-01Introduces readers to the life and career of football star Von Miller. Colorful spreads, fun facts, interesting sidebars, and a map of important places in his life make this a thrilling read for young sports fans.
Malala Yousafzai by ISBN: 9781681865669Publication Date: 2015-10-05Esta es la historia veridica e inspiradora de Malala Yousafzai, una joven nina paquistani que defiende y se manifiesta por el derecho a la educacion de todos los ninos. Aunque ella y dos de sus companeros fueron el objetivo de un atacante taliban, la lesion que amenazo su vida solamente fortalecio su determinacion. Malala dio un discurso en las Naciones Unidas en 2012 el dia que cumplio 16 anos, nueve meses despues de recibir el disparo. Malala es un milagro vestido de rosa. Es una guerrera con palabras. Y desea que todos los ninos y las ninas defiendan y se manifiesten por los millones de ninos que no pueden ir a la escuela en todo el mundo. La escritora y periodista Karen Leggett Abouraya, expresidente de Children s Book Guild en Washington, D.C. y autora de Hands Around the Library: Protecting Egypt s Treasured Books (Manos alrededor de la biblioteca: Proteger los libros atesorados de Egipto), le da vida a la historia de Malala para los lectores jovenes. La historia de Malala es mas que una biografia de una joven franca y valiente. Es un testimonio del poder de la educacion para cambiar el mundo para los ninos y las ninas de todo el mundo."
Twelve Years a Slave: Narrative of Solomon Northup by ISBN: 9781630830892Publication Date: 2014-03-27Twelve Years a Slave (1853) is a memoir and slave narrative by Solomon Northup, as told to and edited by David Wilson. Northup, a black man who was born free in New York, details his kidnapping in Washington, D.C. and subsequent sale into slavery. After having been kept in bondage for 12 years in Louisiana by various masters, Northup was able to write to friends and family in New York, who were able to secure his release. Northup's account provides extensive details on the slave markets in Washington, D.C. and New Orleans and describes at length cotton and sugar cultivation on major plantations in Louisiana.
Charles Dickens by ISBN: 9780688091118Publication Date: 1993-08-16In their lovingly researched, incisively written biography, illustrated with a lushness and attention to period detail of which Dickens would have approved, Diane Stanley and Peter Vennema illuminate his inspirations, his impact on nations of readers, and his gleaming genius that has only brightened with time. This nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 6 to 8. It's a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children. A "handsome book on the beloved novelist. Dickens's troubled, well-documented life has plenty to interest children....Lucid, accessible....A lively, entertaining story for children who enjoy A Christmas Carol in its various guises....A must."--Kirkus Reviews.
The Invasion of Normandy by ISBN: 9781635171846Publication Date: 2017-01-01Explores the Invasion of Normandy of World War II. Authoritative text, colorful illustrations, illuminating sidebars, and questions to prompt critical thinking make this an exciting and informative read.
The Battle of Little Bighorn by ISBN: 9781635170764Publication Date: 2017-01-01Explores the Battle of Little Bighorn of the Great Sioux War. Authoritative text, colorful illustrations, illuminating sidebars, and questions to prompt critical thinking make this an exciting and informative read.
The TET Offensive by ISBN: 9781635170818Publication Date: 2017-01-01Explores the Tet Offensive of the Vietnam War. Authoritative text, colorful illustrations, illuminating sidebars, and questions to prompt critical thinking make this an exciting and informative read.
I Will Not by ISBN: 9781630835408A heartfelt lament by a Palestinian writer is paired to evocative images by an Israeli illustrator. This brief book shows the positive power in a negative. - Kirkus Reviews.
In July of 2014, the world watched with great sadness as violence erupted once again between Israelis and Palestinians in the Gaza Strip. In the middle of the night, a Palestinian writer and former Sesame Street producer, Naila Farouky, wrote a powerful poem that was a cry from the heart for peace, for maintaining humanity even in the face of pain, rage and sorrow. Israeli artist Ora Eitan responded strongly to the poem and agreed to do the illustrations.
We hope that readers will be inspired by this small-but-mighty vow, shared by a Palestinian writer and an Israeli artist in the face of violence: I WILL NOT. This book is published in English, Arabic and Hebrew. Ages 12 and up.
The Battle of San Juan Hill by ISBN: 9781635171822Publication Date: 2017-01-01Explores the Battle of San Juan Hill of the Spanish-American War. Authoritative text, colorful illustrations, illuminating sidebars, and questions to prompt critical thinking make this an exciting and informative read.
The Battle of Gettysburg by ISBN: 9781635171785Explores the Battle of Gettysburg of the US Civil War. Authoritative text, colorful illustrations, illuminating sidebars, and questions to prompt critical thinking make this an exciting and informative read.
The Battle of Inchon by ISBN: 9781635171792Explores the Battle of Inchon of the Korean War. Authoritative text, colorful illustrations, illuminating sidebars, and questions to prompt critical thinking make this an exciting and informative read.
The Battle of Midway by ISBN: 9781635171815Publication Date: 2017-01-01Explores the Battle of Midway of World War II. Authoritative text, colorful illustrations, illuminating sidebars, and questions to prompt critical thinking make this an exciting and informative read.
The Battles of Lexington and Concord by ISBN: 9781635171839Publication Date: 2017-01-01Explores the Battles of Lexington and Concord of the American Revolution. Authoritative text, colorful illustrations, illuminating sidebars, and questions to prompt critical thinking make this an exciting and informative read.
Lionhearts by ISBN: 9781630835460The time was the twelfth century; the barbarian horde was the armies of the First Crusade; the great warrior was Richard the Lionhearted; and the leader was Saladin. This is more than the other side of a familiar Western story, the Crusades. It is the tale of an extraordinary man, remarkable for his generous and chivalrous ways, a warrior who longed for peace.
Shaka, King of Zulus by ISBN: 9780688131142Publication Date: 1994-02-18In a picture-book biography acclaimed for both its accuracy and beauty, Diane Stanley and Peter Vennema describe how Shaka, a brilliant military strategist, rose from humble beginnings to lead a mighty people nearly two centuries ago. It is an unforgettable story."Stanley presents the life story of Shaka, a Zulu military genius who became king of his people in the eighteenth century....The illustrations are full-color paintings that convey a quiet intensity in their portrayal of Shaka and his people."--Booklist
Automóviles Fantásticos by ISBN: 9781681864372Publication Date: 2015-09-12Los coches Americanos viajan dos billones y medio de millas en un año - eso son cinco millones de viajes de ida y vuelta a la luna! Lee más sobre la historia y usos del automóvil, y aprende sobre el uso de los coches del futuro. Recién actualizado en 2014.
Combatiendo el Fuego by ISBN: 9781681864419Publication Date: 2015-09-12Este colorido SeeMore Reader introduce a los bomberos y algunos de los vehículos y herramientas que usan en el trabajo. La franqueza y claridad del texto y de las fotos hacen que este libro sea una buena selección para lectores principiantes y tambien para niños más jóvenes que estan fascinado por el tema. -Booklist
Cuidado! Volcanes by ISBN: 9781623342050Publication Date: 2012-10-04Lee mas sobre los volcanes - desde explosiones poderosas a rios de lava caliente y ardiente. Con hechos fascinantes e imagenes asombrosas, Simon presenta una invitacion irresistible a los lectores jovenes a cuestionar, explorar, y descubrir el mundo interesante que les rodea.
All about 3D Printing by ISBN: 9781635171709Publication Date: 2017-01-01Explores the fascinating world of 3D printing. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, and a "How It Works" feature, the book provides an inspiring look at this exciting technology.
All about Drones by ISBN: 9781635171730Publication Date: 2017-01-01Explores the fascinating world of drones. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, and a "How It Works" feature, the book provides an inspiring look at this exciting technology.
All about Robots by ISBN: 9781635171754Publication Date: 2017-01-01Explores the fascinating world of robots. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, and a "How It Works" feature, the book provides an inspiring look at this exciting technology.
Detecting Hurricanes by ISBN: 9781635171655Publication Date: 2017-01-01Examines how scientists study hurricanes. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, a disaster preparedness checklist, and a "How It Works" feature, this book provides an exciting look at the science of disaster detection.
Detecting Wildfires by ISBN: 9781635171693Publication Date: 2017-01-01Examines how scientists study wildfires. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, a disaster preparedness checklist, and a "How It Works" feature, this book provides an exciting look at the science of disaster detection.
All about Smart Technology by ISBN: 9781635170153Publication Date: 2017-01-01Explores the fascinating world of smart technology. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, and a "How It Works" feature, the book provides an inspiring look at this exciting technology.
Choppers by ISBN: 9781635171105Publication Date: 2017-01-01Offers readers a close-up look at choppers. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, labeled diagrams, and a "How It Works" feature, the book provides a thrilling overview of this exciting vehicle.
Dirt Bikes by ISBN: 9781635172102Publication Date: 2017-01-01Offers readers a close-up look at dirt bikes. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, labeled diagrams, and a "How It Works" feature, the book provides a thrilling overview of this exciting vehicle.
Dragsters by ISBN: 9781635172058Publication Date: 2017-01-01Offers readers a close-up look at dragsters. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, labeled diagrams, and a "How It Works" feature, the book provides a thrilling overview of this exciting vehicle.
Hot Rods by ISBN: 9781635171051Publication Date: 2017-01-01Offers readers a close-up look at hot rods. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, labeled diagrams, and a "How It Works" feature, the book provides a thrilling overview of this exciting vehicle.
Sports Cars by ISBN: 9781635171068Publication Date: 2017-01-01Offers readers a close-up look at sports cars. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, labeled diagrams, and a "How It Works" feature, the book provides a thrilling overview of this exciting vehicle.
All about Apps by ISBN: 9781635171716Publication Date: 2017-01-01Explores the fascinating world of apps. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, and a "How It Works" feature, the book provides an inspiring look at this exciting technology.
All about Social Networking by ISBN: 9781635171778Publication Date: 2017-01-01Explores the fascinating world of social networking. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, and a "How It Works" feature, the book provides an inspiring look at this exciting technology.
All about Online Gaming by ISBN: 9781635170696Publication Date: 2017-01-01Explores the fascinating world of online gaming. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, and a "How It Works" feature, the book provides an inspiring look at this exciting technology.
All about Coding by ISBN: 9781635170672Publication Date: 2017-01-01Explores the fascinating world of coding. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, and a "How It Works" feature, the book provides an inspiring look at this exciting technology.
Detecting Avalanches by ISBN: 9781635170566Publication Date: 2017-01-01Examines how scientists study avalanches. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, a disaster preparedness checklist, and a "How It Works" feature, this book provides an exciting look at the science of disaster detection.
Detecting Volcanic Eruptions by ISBN: 9781635170627Publication Date: 2017-01-01Examines how scientists study volcanic eruptions. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, a disaster preparedness checklist, and a "How It Works" feature, this book provides an exciting look at the science of disaster detection.
Detecting Earthquakes by ISBN: 9781635170573Publication Date: 2017-01-01Examines how scientists study earthquakes. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, a disaster preparedness checklist, and a "How It Works" feature, this book provides an exciting look at the science of disaster detection.
Detecting Floods by ISBN: 9781635171648Publication Date: 2017-01-01Examines how scientists study floods. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, a disaster preparedness checklist, and a "How It Works" feature, this book provides an exciting look at the science of disaster detection.
Detecting Tornadoes by ISBN: 9781635170603Publication Date: 2017-01-01Examines how scientists study tornadoes. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, a disaster preparedness checklist, and a "How It Works" feature, this book provides an exciting look at the science of disaster detection.
Detecting Tsunamis by ISBN: 9781635170610Publication Date: 2017-01-01Examines how scientists study tsunamis. With colorful spreads featuring fun facts, sidebars, a disaster preparedness checklist, and a "How It Works" feature, this book provides an exciting look at the science of disaster detection.
