Return to School 2020-2021: REALM Project Results by material type
The REALM PROJECT Results
REopening Archives, Libraries, and Museums
REopening Archives, Libraries, and Museums (REALM) is a research project conducted by OCLC, the Institute of Museum and Library Services, and Battelle to produce science-based information about how materials can be handled to mitigate COVID-19 exposure to staff and visitors of archives, libraries, and museums.
As part of the REALM research, Battelle is conducting studies to provide information on how long the virus may survive on materials common to archives, libraries, and museums. These studies are conducted by applying the SARS-CoV-2 virus on five materials per test set, held at standard room temperature (68°F to 75°F) and relative humidity conditions (30 to 50 percent). Below are the summarized results of tests completed to date.
Further information
The REALM Project is happening in three phases:
Phase 1:
Preparing for Reopened Libraries: Research on High-priority Materials and Workflows
MAY 2020-AUGUST 2020
This phase will collect, curate, and disseminate information and recommended practices for handling physical collections and facilities in anticipation of a phased-in or full reopening of public library buildings and services starting as early as May 2020. This phase will produce an initial set of research findings and related resources.
Phase 2:
Additional Research to Support Operations of Libraries, Archives, and Museums
JUNE 2020-OCTOBER 2020
This phase will study a second set of materials and workflows across libraries, archives/special collections, and museums. The research activities will produce results of laboratory testing, a scientific literature review, toolkit resources, and related resources that provide updated or new information that may have emerged since Phase 1. A more fully designed website will be launched during this phase.
Phase 3:
Monitor, Update, Communicate
OCTOBER 2020 - SEPTEMBER 2021
In Phase 3, the project will continue to monitor and review emerging research that may require updates and additions to what has been created during the first two phases. In addition, as the rate of transmission for the virus changes over time and communities continue to adjust to those changes, the policies and practices of libraries and museums may also warrant a change. A third literature review and additional laboratory testing is planned for this phase.
Visit the REALM PROJECT Research Page
Use the links below for the full results report for each test.
Results by material
- Archival folders (Stacked)Results show that after two days of quarantine, the virus was not detectable on the archival folders.
- Braille paper (Stacked)Results show that after four days of quarantine, the virus was not detectable on the braille pages.
- Brass (Fixtures, railings)Results show that after two days, SARS-CoV-2 was not detectable on the brass.
- Children's board book (Stacked)Testing was done inside the book. Results show that after four days of quarantine, the virus was not detectable on the board book.
- Cotton fabricNo data for the cotton fabric could be collected or reported.
- DVD (Unstacked)Results show that after five days of quarantine the virus was not detectable on the DVD.
- DVD/CD Case (Unstacked, laid flat)Results show that the SARS-CoV-2 virus was not detectable on the materials after three days of quarantine.
- DVD/CD Case (Stacked)Results show that after six days of quarantine the SARS-CoV-2 virus was still detected on all five materials tested. When compared to Test 1, which resulted in nondetectable virus after three days on an unstacked hardcover book, softcover book, plastic protective cover, and DVD case, the results of Test 4 highlight the effect of stacking and its ability to prolong the survivability of the SARS-CoV-2 virus.
- Expanded polyethylene foamResults show that after six days of quarantine the SARS-CoV-2 virus was still detected on all five materials tested. When compared to Test 1, which resulted in nondetectable virus after three days on an unstacked hardcover book, softcover book, plastic protective cover, and DVD case, the results of Test 4 highlight the effect of stacking and its ability to prolong the survivability of the SARS-CoV-2 virus.
- Glass (windows, display cases)Results show that after six days, the virus was not detected on the glass.
- Glossy pages as found in coffee table books (Stacked)Results show that after four days of quarantine, the virus was not detectable on the glossy book pages.
- Hardback book cover (Unstacked, laid flat)Results show that the SARS-CoV-2 virus was not detectable on the materials after three days of quarantine.
- Hardback book cover (Stacked)Results show that after six days of quarantine the SARS-CoV-2 virus was still detected on all five materials tested. When compared to Test 1, which resulted in nondetectable virus after three days on an unstacked hardcover book, softcover book, plastic protective cover, and DVD case, the results of Test 4 highlight the effect of stacking and its ability to prolong the survivability of the SARS-CoV-2 virus.
- Laminate (countertops)Results show that after six days, the virus was not detected on the laminate.
- Leather book cover (Unstacked)Results show that after eight days of quarantine, SARS-CoV-2 virus was still detected on leather and synthetic leather materials.
- Magazine pages (Stacked)Results show that the magazine showed a trace amount of virus at four days. Day four was the final timepoint tested.
- Marble (flooring, counters)Results show that after two days, SARS-CoV-2 was not detectable on the marble.
- Nylon webbing (Unstacked)Results show that for the nylon webbing, only the amount of virus after the initial 1 hour of drying time could be measured.
- Plain paper pages inside a closed book (Unstacked, laid flat)Results show that the SARS-CoV-2 virus was not detectable on the materials after three days of quarantine.
- Plastic protective book cover (Unstacked, laid flat)Results show that the SARS-CoV-2 virus was not detectable on the materials after three days of quarantine.
- Plastic protective book cover (Stacked)Results show that after six days of quarantine the SARS-CoV-2 virus was still detected on all five materials tested. When compared to Test 1, which resulted in nondetectable virus after three days on an unstacked hardcover book, softcover book, plastic protective cover, and DVD case, the results of Test 4 highlight the effect of stacking and its ability to prolong the survivability of the SARS-CoV-2 virus.
- Plexiglass - acrylic display cases and partitions (Unstacked)Results show that the plexiglass showed recoverable virus at five days. Day five was the final timepoint tested.
- Polyolefin fabric (Unstacked)Results show that for the polyolefin fabric, only the amount of virus after the initial 1 hour of drying time could be measured.
- Powder-coated steel (lockers, shelving, book trucks, exhibit elements)Results show that after six days, virus was not detected on the powder-coated steel.
- Softback book cover (Unstacked, laid flat)Results show that the SARS-CoV-2 virus was not detectable on the materials after three days of quarantine.
- Softback book cover (Stacked)Results show that after six days of quarantine the SARS-CoV-2 virus was still detected on all five materials tested. When compared to Test 1, which resulted in nondetectable virus after three days on an unstacked hardcover book, softcover book, plastic protective cover, and DVD case, the results of Test 4 highlight the effect of stacking and its ability to prolong the survivability of the SARS-CoV-2 virus.
- Storage bag (Unstacked)Results show that after five days of quarantine the virus was not detectable on the storage bag.
- Storage container-plastic (Unstacked)Results show that the storage container showed recoverable virus at five days. Day five was the final timepoint tested.
- Synthetic Leather (Unstacked)Results show that after eight days of quarantine, SARS-CoV-2 virus was still detected on leather and synthetic leather materials.
- USB Cassette (Unstacked)Results show that the USB cassette showed recoverable virus at five days. Day five was the final timepoint tested.