NYPL Resources: Longer List of Available Databases

Popular Databases

The most frequently-used databases from NYPL.  YOU WILL NEED A NYPL CARD NUMBER TO ACCESS!  Register here: Library Card Application Form | NYPL

Academic OneFile This article database includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Academic Search Premier A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

America's Historical Newspapers Searchable full-text and page images of newspapers from across the country including early newspapers, 1690-1922, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; America's Urban Centers Newspaper Collection, 1807-1880; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876;and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; Early American Newspapers, Series 15, 1822-1879: Immigrant Communities.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Ancestry Library Edition Access billions of names in thousands of genealogical databases including Census and Vital Records, birth, marriage and death notices, the Social Security Death Index, Passenger lists and naturalizations, Military and Holocaust Records, City Directories, New York Emigrant Savings Bank records, and African American and Native American Records. Library version of Ancestry.com.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

AP Images Search and view millions of photographs from the Associated Press archive. Also includes audio and graphic files.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Berg Fashion Library Comprehensive coverage of world fashion from reference titles, journal articles, ebooks, and images. Select "Resource Area" to access lesson plans, thematic reading lists, and biographies. Please note that Fairchild Books and Fashion Photography Archive content is not included in the Library's subscription.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window Provides biographical information on 650,000+ people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines. For more in-depth biographies of figures from American history, consult American National Biography.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Brill Online Books and Journals Provides full-text access to scholarly journals and book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Business Collection Nearly 4,000 leading business,trade, and news publications covering accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management & strategy, and business theory & practice. This content was previously divided into multiple databases :PROMT, European Business ASAP, Business Index ASAP, Business & Company ASAP, General Business File,and Business International & Company Profiles.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Business Insights: Essentials Business Insights provides in depth coverage of businesses, including company profiles, industry profiles, products and brands, financial reports, company rankings, histories and full text periodical articles. Formerly known as Business & Company Resource Center. Dates of Coverage: 1980-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Credo Reference Provides full-text online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference book collections, including art, history, law, medicine, psychology, technology, bilingual dictionaries and encyclopedias.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

EBSCOHost Provides access to over 30 databases with citations, abstracts and selected full-text. Includes Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete and other subject-specific resources. Specific databases available through EBSCOhost are listed at the EBSCOhost site and in this directory.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

ERIC (EBSCO) U.S. Department of Education's Educational Resource Information Center database. Citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Fiction Connection A bibliographic database of over 7.5 million U.S. book, audio book, and movie titles, as well as 12 million international titles, currently in print and information on forthcoming and out-of-print books.Also offers: reviews; tables of contents; cover images; author biographies; awards information; and annotations.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

First Research Industry profiles include industry overview, recent developments, business challenges, trends and opportunities, executive insight,call preparation questions, financial and industry ratio's, industry forecast, web links and acronyms. Note: PDF's of First Research industry profiles can be found in Mergent Archives to view, save or print. In Mergent Archives, click the First Research tab. Use copy and paste into Notepad or Word. Save and print functions are not provided in the database. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Flipster Access over 100 popular magazines,including Bon Appetit, Sports Illustrated, Time, and People, through this digital platform. Send issues to the app (available in the Apple App Store and Google Play) for offline reading.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is an online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including texts related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

General OneFile This general periodical database contains over 12,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text. The backfile extends nearly 30 years. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, politics and more.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

International Herald Tribune, 1887-2013 The International Herald Tribune archive covers 126 years of reportage, with contributors from various countries and cultures. The International Herald Tribune began as the European edition of The New York Herald in 1887. In 1967, after the end of the New York Herald Tribune, the newspaper was renamed the International Herald Tribune. The archive includes over 500,000 pages with over 6 million articles. The archive covers a diverse range of content, from war reporting to cultural criticism.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

JSTOR A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

LearningExpress Library Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams that will help people improve their scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams, including the PSAT, SAT,GED replacement, TASC, test, and other exams.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

LinkedIn Learning (formerly lynda.com) LinkedIn Learning, formerly known as Lynda.com, is an online educational site that features thousands of courses and video tutorials where you can discover, complete, and track courses related to your field and interests. Users will need to create accounts in order to track course progress, create playlists of potential coursework, and keep course notes. Patrons should refer to LinkedIn's Privacy Policy and Website Use Policy before starting.

MasterFILE Premier Contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Morningstar Investment Research Center Access Morningstar financial reports, screening, analyst reports and portfolio screening. Use the Help & Education link to access information about this database and online course modules on investing.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

National Geographic Virtual Library Full content from National Geographic Magazine, from 1888 to the present. Search covers, articles, images, maps, and advertisements, or browse by issue. Also included are topic guides and Common Core teaching resources.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

New Yorker Digital Archive The entire run of the New Yorker, in full text and full color, from 1925-present.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Newspapers.com Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 300+ million pages of historical newspapers from 11,100+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond, with a focus on full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers. The collection includes a broad range of dates, mostly covering the 19th and 20th centuries.

Oxford Dictionaries Online Oxford Dictionaries Online provides access to dozens of Oxford University Press dictionaries in English, French, Spanish, German, Italian, Portuguese, Arabic, and Russian. Also included:New Oxford Dictionary for Writers and Editors,Garner's Dictionary of Legal Usage,Pocket Fowler's Modern English Usage,and New Hart's Rules: a handbook of style for writers and editors.Grammar and punctuation guides are also included.**Patrons should read the Oxford Classical Dictionary's Privacy Policy before searching.**

Oxford Reference Online Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. Titles cover a wide range of humanities,social science, performing arts, and general reference subjects. Dance publications include the International Encyclopedia of Dance and the Oxford Dictionary of Dance. Theatre publications include The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance and The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre.**Patrons should read the Oxford Reference Online Privacy Policy before searching.**

PowerSearch This resource searches across all of the Gale databases to which NYPL subscribes, including Academic One File, General One File, and Infotrac Newsstand.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

PressReader Provides access to current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 2,000 U.S. and international titles.

Project Muse Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals and top quality book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

ProQuest Historical Newspapers Searchable full-text and page images of all ProQuest Historical Newspaper databases, which include titles related to New York, Chicago, Atlanta, Baltimore, Los Angeles, Washington, D.C., the American Jewish Newspaper Series, and the United Kingdom.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

ProQuest Research Library Provides articles from periodicals covering arts, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, multicultural studies, sciences, social sciences, and general interest. Full text is available for nearly two-thirds of its titles.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Reference USA Provides addresses, sales information, executives, for over 11 million U.S. Now includes job listings.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Sage Knowledge The full text and full catalog of Sage Publishing's social science ebook platform. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

TumbleBookCloud A collection of videos and chapter books in categories which include: Ebooks, Read-Alongs, Graphic Novels, Videos (from National Geographic), and Audio Books suitable for middle school and high school grades.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Very Short Introductions The full text of the entire catalog of Oxford University Press's Very Short Introductions series. The books in this platform offer concise overviews to a range of academic subjects in the arts & humanities, law, medicine & health, science & mathematics, and social sciences. **Patrons should read Very Short Introduction's Privacy Policy before searching.**