The MCLS provides a number of business research databases available remotely for your convenience, requiring only your public library card. These free resources include indexed, searchable company and industry profiles, market research, financial reports, regional demographic analysis, current news, and much more. Resources include:
There are also excellent business database sources available on-site only at Monroe County Library locations, including ABI/INFORM, Hoover's Company Profiles, IBISWorld and ProQuest Entrepreneurship.
JSTOR is a collection of Journal Articles, Primary Sources and Books. Recommended for more advanced research needs.
Offsite user: sutherlandhs
Gale in Context: High School
A good general purpose database. Start here for most topics.
Offsite password: empirelink or sutherland
Gale Business Databases
Business Insights: Essentials - Includes company profiles, brand information, company histories, financial reports, periodical articles, and links to relevant Web sites. Type: Full text.
Small Business Collection - Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find hundreds of full text subject-appropriate periodicals.
Business Economics and Theory: this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find more than 150 full-text journals to support their research.
InfoTrac Newsstand - This full text newspaper database has seven New York Newspapers, including the New York Times from 1985 on, and over fifty national and international newspapers. Type: Full text.
Popular Magazines: This database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries".
Offsite password for all: empirelink or sutherland
Free Business Resources
GLOBUS & NTDB: Your comprehensive source for credible trade leads and timely market research.
EDGAR: Free access to more than 20 million filings from the Securities and Exchange Commission. Includes company registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms.
Search millions of digitized books.
Search millions of journal articles and research papers.
Remember, the "magic" in a Wikipedia article is down at the bottom. Look for External Links, Further Reading and References and follow the links. Learn more about How to Use Wikipedia Wisely.