Steele - Modernism: All SHS Databases

General purpose - a great starting point for most topics. Password: empirelink

Journals, primary sources and books.  User: sutherlandhs, password: school

Search all the Gale products at once.
Password: sutherland

The complete archive of National Geographic magazine from 1888-present, plus e-books and video.

Password: empirelink

A large collection of Reference Titles in E-book form.   Our collection is strong for history and biographical subjects.

Offsite password: empirelink or sutherland

Password: empirelink

User: sutherland, password: school

History E-Books

User: sutherland, password: school

Chronicling America - LOC Newspapers 1690-1943

Britannica Escolar. Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.

Informe Académico meets the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America.

Classroom Video on Demand

Username: pitt-sutherhs
Password: knights

Search hundreds of University and Museum art image collections all in one place.

IMAGES - over 5 Million Historical Images, searchable by keyword.

It's not all about Google and Bing.  There are LOTS of other ways to search the internet when researching.  Here are some great tools:

• www.refseek.com - Academic Resource Search. More than a billion sources: encyclopedia, monographies, magazines.
• www.worldcat.org - a search for the contents of 20 thousand worldwide libraries. Find out where lies the nearest rare book you need.
• https://link.springer.com - access to more than 10 million scientific documents: books, articles, research protocols.
• www.bioline.org.br is a library of scientific bioscience journals published in developing countries.
• http://repec.org - volunteers from 102 countries have collected almost 4 million publications on economics and related science.
• www.science.gov is an American state search engine on 2200+ scientific sites. More than 200 million articles are indexed.
• www.base-search.net is one of the most powerful researches on academic studies texts. More than 100 million scientific documents, 70% of them are free

Current Events and Controversial Topics
Password: empirelink

Historical US Newspapers & World Current Events

(user: PISH, password: 1Monroe)

Bloom's Literature

Username: pitt-sutherhs
Password: knights

Username = Monroe1

Password = boces

Remember, the "magic" in a Wikipedia article is down at the bottom.  Look for External Links, Further Reading and References and follow the links. Learn more about How to Use Wikipedia Wisely.