Human Rights: Databases
Database Tips and Tricks
PLEASE NOTE: Click on the more... button to locate the remote password for databases.
Use the Advanced Search Feature in the databases (ex. Bosnia AND Genocide)
Citing Your Sources from a Database:
Open your Noodletools project
Locate an article in the databases, click on "cite, then select the citation and export.
Go back to Noodletools and refresh the page, go to sources and the citation will appear.
*You will also see "View as Live Webpage" this will allow you to always be able to view the article, no more searching to locate it again... just go directly to Noodletools to work with the article.
- Database PasswordsOpen this document to find the usernames and passwords for the Penfield Databases.
Biography
- Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people
Britannica
- Britannica High School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended Web sites.
World Book
- World Book This link opens in a new window
Offers an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides.
Global Issues
- Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
World History
- Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race.
Gender Studies
- Gender Studies Collection
A comprehensive periodical collection supporting significant aspects of gender in culture and society
Gale In Context
- Gale In Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Opposing Viewpoints
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Explore both sides of an issue with this premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues.
