Media Literacy Debate Topics: Home

• Topic Page

• Schaefer, Kayleen. "Girls Are Taking Drastic Measures To Achieve the Perfect Instagram Snap." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/ZDPKRV953665122/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=eaf0165a . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Girls Are Taking Drastic Measures To Achieve the Perfect Instagram Snap," Teen Vogue, 20 Oct. 2015.

• Penny, Laurie. "The Media Foster Misplaced Public Concern About Anorexia." The Culture of Beauty, edited by Louise I. Gerdes, Greenhaven Press, 2013. Opposing Viewpoints. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ3010659247/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=270bd7dc . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Our Disgusting Appetite for Anorexia Chic," New Statesman, 11 Jan. 2011.

• Alibhai-Brown, Yasmin. "Western Standards of Beauty Have Spread via Globalization." The Culture of Beauty, edited by Louise I. Gerdes, Greenhaven Press, 2013. Opposing Viewpoints. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ3010659234/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=3508a369 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "The Ugly Business of Global Beauty," Independent, 20 Nov. 2010.

• Graydon, Shari. "The Pursuit of Beauty Is Harmful." The Culture of Beauty, edited by Louise I. Gerdes, Greenhaven Press, 2013. Opposing Viewpoints. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ3010659241/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=7100bf61 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "How the Media Keeps Us Hung Up on Body Image," Herizons, vol. 22, no. 1, Summer 2008.

• Topic Page

• Gillman, Howard, and Erwin Chemerinsky. "We Must Help College Students Understand the Importance of Free Speech." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/HFMLBW093118467/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=b7788ac6 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Don’t mock or ignore students’ lack of support for free speech. Teach them," Los Angeles Times, 31 Mar. 2016.

• Rothman, Noah. "University Students Pose a Greater Threat to Free Speech Than Trump." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/LTMXKM457050348/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=7f535a12 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Who Is the Real Threat to Free Speech?" Commentary, 26 Sept. 2017.

• McArdle, Megan. "Campus free speech is threatened. But how much?" Washington Post, 13 Apr. 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/A534560711/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=2cc3a56a . Accessed 31 May 2018.

• Nossel, Suzanne. "How to protect free speech - and students." Washington Post, 25 May 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/A540253282/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=9a09b20d . Accessed 31 May 2018.

• Topic Page

• Malkin, Michelle. "Forget Gun Control. America Needs Fallacy Control." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/ZUPIIS311205446/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=1db92ad7 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Forget Gun Control. America Needs Fallacy Control," The Daily Signal, 4 Oct. 2017.

• Heer, Jeet. "Televising Footage of Shootings Does More Harm than Good." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/DXLYSO661297213/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=b2ea2b35 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Don’t Circulate Videos of the TV News Killing in Virginia," New Republic, 26 Aug. 2015.

• Younge, Gary. "Young people can’t change US gun law alone—but they could tip the balance." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/QZLWPY240968392/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=1c622995 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Young people can’t change US gun law alone—but they could tip the balance," Guardian, 23 Feb. 2018.

• Younge, Gary. "Gun Ownership Is a Dangerous Part of the American Identity." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/KAKNBU766087799/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=955244f0 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Why Americans won’t give up their guns," Guardian, 6 Oct. 2017.

• Topic Page

• Aldana, Raquel. "Debunking 3 myths behind ‘chain migration’ and ‘low-skilled’ immigrants." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/HIQYED295284610/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=bfbaec47 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Debunking 3 myths behind ‘chain migration’ and ‘low-skilled’ immigrants," The Conversation, 2 Feb. 2018.

• "Mass Legalization for Unauthorized Immigrants Is a Bad Idea." Immigration Reform, edited by Noël Merino, Greenhaven Press, 2016. At Issue. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ3010962207/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=9381ec07 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "The Case Against Amnesty," aicfoundation.com, June 2013.

• Srnicek, Nick. "The US$100 trillion case for open borders." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/KYDHKK942135845/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=8f939dc9 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "The US$100 trillion case for open borders," The Conversation, 8 Feb. 2017.

• Kouri, Jim. "Keeping US Borders Open Increases Crime and Terrorism." Should the US Close Its Borders?, edited by Louise Gerdes, Greenhaven Press, 2014. At Issue. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ3010615220/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=18824498 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Terror Threat Continues at US Borders," RenewAmerica.com, 5 June 2009.

• Topic Page

• Drug Policy Alliance. "Marijuana Should Be Fully Legalized, Not Just Decriminalized." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/JBTUVZ891334749/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=ba95fa84  . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Why Is Marijuana Decriminalization Not Enough?" Drugpolicy.org, Jan. 2015, p. 1.

• National Institute on Drug Abuse. "Marijuana Has Harmful Individual and Social Consequences." The Legalization of Marijuana, edited by Noël Merino, Greenhaven Press, 2016. Opposing Viewpoints. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ3010991212/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=e50fc46f . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Marijuana,", Apr. 2015.

• Grady, J. Lee. "Marijuana Should Not Be Legalized." The US Libertarian Movement, edited by Michael Ruth, Greenhaven Press, 2016. Opposing Viewpoints. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ3010983229/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=0ed11bf0 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "5 Reasons Why Legalizing Marijuana Stinks," CharismaNews.com, 16 Jan. 2014.

• Law Enforcement Against Prohibition. "Drug Prohibition Has Failed and Needs to End." The Legalization of Marijuana, edited by Noël Merino, Greenhaven Press, 2016. Opposing Viewpoints. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ3010991206/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=dc14aa24 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "After Prohibition,", Oct. 2013.

• Topic Page

• Adubato, Steve. "Police in Schools Make Students Safer." School Safety, edited by Noah Berlatsky, Greenhaven Press, 2016. Opposing Viewpoints. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ3010981217/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=ba07d1ec . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "By Any Means Necessary: Do We Need Police in Schools?" www.njmonthly.com, 11 Feb. 2013.

• Warnick, Bryan, et al. "Why security measures won’t stop school shootings." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/JMHSVQ300370723/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=70185cbc . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Why security measures won’t stop school shootings," The Conversation, 14 Feb. 2018.

• Beckett, Lois. "America’s response to school massacres? A booming classroom security industry." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CODIWB046488726/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=c6c85405 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "America’s response to school massacres? A booming classroom security industry," Guardian, 18 Nov. 2017.

• Cornell, Dewey. "Schools Are Safe Places." School Safety, edited by Noah Berlatsky, Greenhaven Press, 2016. Opposing Viewpoints. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ3010981206/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=36b36f43 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Myths About Youth Violence and School Safety," http://curry.virginia.edu, 26 July 2015

• Topic Page

• Akers, Beth, and Matthew M. Chingos. "Increased Student Loan Debt Is Not a Big Problem." Student Loans, edited by Noël Merino, Greenhaven Press, 2016. At Issue. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ3010794221/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=18f55da8 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Is a Student Loan Crisis on the Horizon?", June 2014.

• Quinton, Sophie. "Why You Might Be Paying Student Loans Until You Retire." Student Loans, edited by Noël Merino, Greenhaven Press, 2016. At Issue. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ3010794220/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=7fd6dad3 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Why You Might Be Paying Student Loans Until You Retire (and Beyond)," National Journal, 18 Sept. 2014.

• National Center for Education Statistics, US Department of Education. "Student Loans and Default Rates Have Increased in Recent Years." Student Loans, edited by Noël Merino, Greenhaven Press, 2016. At Issue. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ3010794219/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=db8e5199 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Student Loan Volume and Default Rates,", May 2014.

• McClennen, Sophia A. "Millennial College Students Have Legitimate Grievances." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/HMKHEL011256610/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=e337ba5d . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "How pervasive anti-millennial sentiment has hurt the cause of student protesters," The Conversation, 4 Dec. 2015.

• Topic Page

• Paxton, Ken. "The Media Must Acknowledge the Reality of Voter Fraud." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/SLJPIS213141519/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=c9493c29 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Protecting the Right to Vote," Washington Times, 23 Apr. 2017.

• Snead, Jason. "These Cases Prove the Left Is Wrong to Dismiss Voter Fraud." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/FJTJKX214147322/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=f2deac8c . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "These Cases Prove the Left Is Wrong to Dismiss Voter Fraud," The Daily Signal, 1 Mar. 2017.

• Rhodes, Jesse. "How ‘voter fraud’ crusades undermine voting rights." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/PWXXBW525557194/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=ed663326 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "How ‘voter fraud’ crusades undermine voting rights," The Conversation, 2 Feb. 2017.

• The Daily Take Team. "Voter Fraud in the United States Is Virtually Nonexistent." Voter Fraud, edited by Sarah Armstrong, Greenhaven Press, 2016. At Issue. Opposing Viewpoints In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ3010620216/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=764a5b17 . Accessed 31 May 2018. Originally published as "Time to End the GOP's Voter Fraud Lie,", 14 Mar. 2013.

Opposing Viewpoints features VIEWPOINT essays (opinionated pieces) on a large number of controversial topics, along with news items, reference articles, media and much more.

Offsite password: empirelink or sutherland