Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Shakespeare's London: Home

Shakespeare's London

Databases and E-Books


FOCUS ON ELIZABETHAN WORLD:

Daily Life through History - Elizabethan England

Articles on domestic, economic, intellectual, marital and recreational life in Elizabethan England.

E-Book: Elizabethan World Reference Library

Provides background and information on the culture and history of the Elizabethan period, biographies of significant men and women of the time, and primary sources that represent some of the most significant and studied documents of the era.


FOCUS ON PEOPLE:

Encyclopedia of World Biography

A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.

Article: Will in the World: How Shakespeare Became Shakespeare

How a man with only a secondary school education, the son of a small town glove maker, became the most renowned playwright of all time.


FOCUS ON THE PLAYS:

Shakespeare for Students: Critical Interpretations of Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry

Collection of essays by Shakespeare scholars - each entry includes an introduction; a plot synopsis; a character list; a discussion of the work's principal themes; information about the style and literary devices used; a conversation about the work's historical context; and a critical overview.

Literature and Its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events that Influenced Them

Provides in-depth commentary on characters, themes, and the historical and social context of 300 most-studied literary works, including novels, plays, poems, speeches, and short stories, both international and American.

Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature

Covers world authors from many periods and genres, building an understanding of the various contexts -- from the biographical to the literary to the historical -- in which literature can be viewed.


 

Bloom's Literature

Bloom's Literature

Username: pitt-sutherhs
Password: knights

Library Books

Classroom Video

Classroom Video on Demand

Username: pitt-sutherhs
Password: knights

Britannica

Password: empirelink

Librarian

Profile Photo
Brian Regan
Contact:
585-267-3044