Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SHS Library - All Databases: All SHS Databases

SHS Library Databases

General Reference


General purpose - a great starting point for most topics. Password: empirelink.

Journals, primary sources and books.  User: sutherlandhs, password: school.


Search all the Gale products at once.
Password: sutherland

The complete archive of National Geographic magazine from 1888-present, plus e-books and video.

Password: empirelink

Gale E-Books

A large collection of Reference Titles in E-book form.   Our collection is strong for history and biographical subjects.

Offsite password: empirelink or sutherland

Britannica

Password: empirelink

Research in Context

Middle Level comprehensive research database.

Gale Subject Collections

27 Subject-Specific Database Article Collections.  Remote password: empirelink

Librarian

Profile Photo
Brian Regan
Contact:
585-267-3044

History and Government

User: sutherland, password: school


History E-Books


User: sutherland, password: school

Chronicling America - LOC Newspapers 1690-1943

 

Chronicling America - LOC Newspapers 1690-1943

Spanish Language Databases


Informe Académico meets the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America.


Britannica Escolar. Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.

Safari Montage

Video Streaming.  Log in with PCSD Network Credentials.

Science

The New York Times

(Through Gale OneFile)

TIP: Click on a date to browse, or use the search box to the right.

Images

username:  sutherland  
password: learn

AP IMAGE ARCHIVE

Username: homeuse

Password: homeuse

 

Classroom Video

Classroom Video on Demand

Username: pitt-sutherhs
Password: knights

ArtStor

Search hundreds of University and Museum art image collections all in one place.

Library of Congress Images

IMAGES - over 5 Million Historical Images, searchable by keyword.

Current Events

Current Events and Controversial Topics
Password: empirelink

Historical US Newspapers & World Current Events

(user: PISH, password: 1Monroe)

English and Literature

Bloom's Literature

Bloom's Literature

Username: pitt-sutherhs
Password: knights

Health

Primary Sources

Wikipedia

Search Wikipedia:

Remember, the "magic" in a Wikipedia article is down at the bottom.  Look for External Links, Further Reading and References and follow the links. Learn more about How to Use Wikipedia Wisely.