MHS Library Resources: New York Public Library (NYPL)

U.S. Newsstream provides access to current U.S. news content, as well as archives that go back into the 1980s. It includes access to content from The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, CNN Newswires, and the Huffington Post. Also included is access to Gannett regional newspapers, as well as other local, regional, and national titles throughout the U.S.

A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

Provides biographical information on 650,000+ people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines.

Search, read, and download eBooks in different subject areas, including business, career, classic literature, and more.

Provides access to over 30 databases with citations, abstracts and selected full-text. Includes Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete and other subject-specific resources. Specific databases available through EBSCOhost are listed at the EBSCOhost site and in this directory.

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. In addition, ERIC provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

A full-text database that cross-searches Gale's literature collections: Contemporary Authors Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Something About the Author Online, and Twayne's Authors Series.

Over 3,500 titles! Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) is an online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including texts related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.

Search the most recent global news content – with archives that stretch back into the 1980s – from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Global Newsstream provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

Covers a variety of contemporary debated subjects to explore different viewpoints and develop critical thinking skills. Material is divided into an alphabetical list of subjects (Topics) and concepts divided into categories (Perspectives), supported with articles, images, speeches, and other documentation. A good companion to Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center.

Contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.

Full content from National Geographic Magazine, from 1888 to the present. Search covers, articles, images, maps, and advertisements, or browse by issue. Also included are topic guides and Common Core teaching resources.

Searchable full text to over 170 U.S. newspapers and 20 international newspapers. Also includes newswires and TV and radio news transcripts.

Includes more than 1,000 full text magazine titles, covering subjects such as general interest, social sciences, health, and more.

Provides access to current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 2,000 U.S. and international titles. Formerly called PressDisplay. Registering as a user with the site is optional and allows for personalized, saved settings. Patrons should consult PressReader's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy before registering.

Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals and top-quality book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences.

Provides articles from periodicals covering arts, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, multicultural studies, sciences, social sciences, and general interest. Full text is available for nearly two-thirds of its titles.

Contains the full text of frequently-used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors. Twayne's Authors Series is now available via the Gale eBooks platform.

Coverage of the most-studied U.S. history topics including from the arrival of Vikings in North America, American Revolution, Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror through a web-like experience that supports the development of critical thinking and information literacy skills. Noted for access to primary source documents.

From antiquity to the present day, search a broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents that cover the events, movements, and individuals that have shaped world history.