SciFi/Fantasy Project: Home
Databases
- Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
A collection of authoritative periodicals, scholarly journals, newspapers, and reference content. - Teaching Books This link opens in a new window
Our mission is to equitably give all readers insights and opportunities that deepen their understanding and joy of the books they are reading. - Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A research-focused literary destination, providing students, academics and researchers authoritative and relevant results on demand. - Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of periodicals supporting pop culture - Britannica High School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended Web sites. - World Book This link opens in a new window
Offers an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides.
Books and Authors
Gale in Context: Literature
- Gale in Context: Literature
This a free 30-day trial. Gain a deeper understanding of literary texts through a wide variety of contextual resources like videos, images, infographics, eBooks etc.
Videos
Podcasts
Overview: Hosted by Eric Molinsky, this podcast explores the making and meaning of science fiction, fantasy, and other genres that involve worldbuilding. It discusses the creative process behind iconic books, films, and games, including interviews with writers, filmmakers, and fans.
Why It’s Great for High Schoolers: High school students interested in the mechanics of worldbuilding and the impact of speculative fiction will enjoy the in-depth exploration of favorite fantasy and sci-fi universes. The episodes are well-researched and perfect for sparking interest in genre literature.
Blogs
Overview: This blog showcases some of the best science fiction author websites, providing inspiration and insights into the world-building and creative processes of various authors.
Overview: This blog is known for its thoughtful reviews of fantasy and science fiction books, particularly with a focus on diverse and inclusive storytelling. The Book Smugglers also publish original short stories and essays.
Why It’s Great for High Schoolers: The blog provides critical reviews and features on new, diverse voices in speculative fiction, making it a good resource for students who want to explore lesser-known authors and works that deal with current social issues through the lens of genre fiction.
Works Cited
- NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
Student research platform with MLA, APA and Chicago/Turabian bibliographies, notecards, outlining.
Websites
Tor.com
- Tor.com is an excellent site for science fiction and fantasy news, reviews, short stories, and features. They often highlight both new and classic authors, making it a good resource for students interested in the genre.
The Hugo Awards
- The Hugo Awards site offers information about one of the most prestigious awards in science fiction and fantasy. Students can explore past winners and finalists, which includes many key authors in the genre.
Locus Magazine
- Locus Online is a respected magazine in the science fiction and fantasy community. They provide book reviews, author interviews, and news about the latest in the genres.
Fantastic Fiction
- Fantastic Fiction is a massive database of authors and books. It’s especially helpful for students who want to learn about specific authors, read summaries, and see a full list of their works.
The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
- The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction is a comprehensive resource that covers thousands of authors, works, and concepts in science fiction.
