Criminalistics: Digital Resources
Database Passwords
Britannica Academic
- Britannica Academic Includes Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.
Gale Ebooks (Virtual Reference Library)
- Gale Ebooks (was Virtual Reference Library) Cross-curricular, virtual reference books. The fast growing collection in the library.
Gale in Context High School
- Gale in Context High School The most popular of our general, multimedia databases. Good starting point for most research assignments.
Gale Power Search - Periodicals
- Gale Power Search Gale's Power Search is an interface which offers two exclusive and extraordinarily vast databases of periodicals - the General One File and Academic One File - each with millions of full text articles on all subject matters. It is also a mechanism to efficiently cross search man of the other Gale products in our collection.
EBSCO Host Ultra
- EBSCO Host Ultra EBSCO offers a premier, collegiate level interface and hundreds of thousands of full text periodicals dating back to the mid-20th century. Our deepest repository of periodical literature.
Newspapers
- Newsbank This link opens in a new window This collection of primary source databases supports a variety of subject areas. America’s Historical Newspapers provides content from 1690 through 2000 with an easy to use timeline that highlights major events studied in US history. Additionally, NewsBank contains Access World News, which features current full text articles from approximately 10,000 news sources from over 200 countries around the world.
Classroom Video on Demand
- Classroom Video on Demand Thousands of curriculum related clips to use for research and/or your multimedia presentations. Designed specifically for secondary students.
AP Images
Internet
- Advanced SearchingUse Google Advanced Search for better query results, better precision.
Locating Public Domain and/or Creative Commons Images
Citations
------------------------------------------------------------
Citing a YouTube clip? - choose WEBSITE --- VIDEO CLIP ONLINE
Citing a streaming service (Netflix, Prime, etc.)? - choose WEBSITE --- FILM OR VIDEO
Citing an online TV episode (Hulu, etc.)? - choose WEBSITE --- TELEVISION
Citing a TV episode heard live? - choose VIEWED/ HEARD LIVE --- TELEVISION
Citing an Image? - choose WEBSITE - PHOTO OR IMAGE (BORN DIGITAL)
------------------------------------------------------------
Book citations MUST have the following (minimum): Author, Title, Publisher, Date
------------------------------------------------------------
Website citations MUST have the following (minimum): Name of Website, Title of article, Date, URL
------------------------------------------------------------
Database citations - Use the citation tools to either import or copy/paste (NOTE: Citations from Newsbank database may require manual tweaking)
------------------------------------------------------------
A note on preformatted citations - DO use the import or copy/ paste citation features in databases. DO NOT use preformatted citations from websites (you must build these yourself in Noodletools)