Editorial Research Project: Home
Doeblin 10H
Student Editorial Project
Database Passwords
Reference Databases
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Cross-curricular, virtual reference books. The fast growing collection in the library.
Periodical Databases
- Gale in Context High School This link opens in a new window The most popular of our general, multimedia databases. Good starting point for most research assignments.
- Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window Gale's Power Search is an interface which offers two exclusive and extraordinarily vast databases of periodicals - the General One File and Academic One File - each with millions of full text articles on all subject matters. It is also a mechanism to efficiently cross search man of the other Gale products in our collection.
- Newsbank This link opens in a new window This collection of primary source databases supports a variety of subject areas. America’s Historical Newspapers provides content from 1690 through 2000 with an easy to use timeline that highlights major events studied in US history. Additionally, NewsBank contains Access World News, which features current full text articles from approximately 10,000 news sources from over 200 countries around the world.
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window With over 2,500 full text resources, JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
PEW Research Center
- PEW Research Center Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
Open Web Resources
How to Write an Editorial
- How to Write an Editorial A short tutorial on how to write an editorial from no less than Andy Rosenthal, editor of the editorial section of the NY Times. Watch and learn.
Political News Spectrum
- All Sides Media Bias Chart We expose people to information and ideas from all sides of the political spectrum so they can better understand the world — and each other. AllSides is a public benefit corporation serving news consumers here at AllSides™ and providing patented technologies, tools and services to media companies, nonprofits, schools, businesses and other organizations at AllSides.com/services.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Lateral Reading Video
Examples for Students
Pittsford Community Library
The Original Inspiration
Idea Generators
Source Evaluation
- How to Evaluate a Source Detailed but accessible information on the nuances of source evaluation including suggestions for academic v. common information needs.
- Books v. Journals v. Websites Each type of information source has its strengths and weaknesses. This link efficiently highlights the potential pros and cons of 3 common types of information.
- SNOPES Snopes’ fact-checking and original, investigative reporting lights the way to evidence-based and contextualized analysis. We always link to and document our sources so readers are empowered to do independent research and make up their own minds.