Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Odyssey: Home

The Odyssey

Guide

TIP: In any of these resources, try searching Odyssey and <theme/topic>.  Ex. odyssey and gender.

BLOOM'S LITERATURE: our best source for literary criticism. Be sure to explore under all of the tabs.

GALE EBOOKS: wide-ranging sources.  Good for literary criticism, historical context, biographical information.

JSTOR: similar to Gale eBooks in scope, but more scholarly.  A deeper dive.

GALE in CONTEXT - HS: general purpose resource.  Best for shorter, overview articles.

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC: may be useful for articles about the geography of the Mediterranean/Greece and related archeological findings.

For help with citations, refer to the tab above: MLA 8 Citation Help

EBOOK of The ODYSSEY:

1. Go to our Library Catalog and title search Odyssey.

2. Look for the result with an OPEN button next to it and click it.

3. Log into the catalog with your school network login.

4. Be sure to CLOSE the book when finished to make it available to others.

 

Librarian

Profile Photo
Brian Regan
Contact:
585-267-3044

Bloom's Literature

Bloom's Literature

Username: pitt-sutherhs
Password: knights

Gale E-Books

A large collection of Reference Titles in E-book form.   Our collection is strong for history and biographical subjects.

Offsite password: empirelink or sutherland

Gale in Context: High School

A good general purpose database.  Start here for most topics.

Offsite password: empirelink or sutherland

JSTOR

JSTOR is a collection of Journal Articles, Primary Sources and Books.  Recommended for more advanced research needs.

Offsite user: sutherlandhs
password: school

 

National Geographic Archive

The complete archive of National Geographic magazine from 1888-present, plus e-books and video.

Password: empirelink -OR- sutherland

Google

Try Google's specialized research tools:

On Google Books, you can read books and magazines, download them, cite them, and translate them.  Some results are excerpts or limited access, while others are full-text documents.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature in journal articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.