Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THUG Pre-Research: Home

The Hate You Give

The Hate U Give

The Complexities of Gang Culture/Leaving a Gang

"Gangs." Gale Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2019. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/ZDVYKP405670104/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=c52db3e2 .

"Negative effects of joining a gang last long after gang membership ends." Mental Health Weekly Digest, 31 Mar. 2014, p. 29. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A363489941/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=311fcc9a .

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT GANGS – National Gang Center: https://www.nationalgangcenter.gov/about/FAQ

Tupac Shakur as Activist

"Tupac Shakur." Encyclopedia of World Biography Online, vol. 37, Gale, 2017. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/K1631010698/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=77ac30f9.

8 Ways Tupac Shakur Changed the World: Twenty years after his death, the rapper’s legacy is still felt by MOSI REEVES: https://www.rollingstone.com/music/music-news/8-ways-tupac-shakur-changed-the-world-128421/

Deeper Dive: Stanford, Karin L. “Keepin' It Real in Hip Hop Politics: A Political Perspective of Tupac Shakur.” Journal of Black Studies, vol. 42, no. 1, 2011, pp. 3-22. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25780789 .

Gale E-Books

A large collection of Reference Titles in E-book form.   Our collection is strong for history and biographical subjects.

Offsite password: empirelink or sutherland

Black Panther Party

"The Black Panther Party." Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. HistoryGovernment and Politics, Gale, 2009. Gale In Context: High School, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/EJ3048400212/GPS?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=GPS&xid=26b608da.

"Black Panther Party." Activists, Rebels and Reformers, edited by Diane Sawinski, vol. 1, UXL, 2001. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/EJ3017200011/GPS?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=GPS&xid=1ba0b347.

Black Panthers – History.com: https://www.history.com/topics/civil-rights-movement/black-panthers

Media Coverage of Fatal Police Shootings

"Police Brutality." Gale Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2020. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/EMNQRZ438811059/OVIC?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=OVIC&xid=e0351ccb .

We're Not Seeing More Police Shootings, Just More News Coverage, by Eliott C. McLaughlin, CNN:  https://www.cnn.com/2015/04/20/us/police-brutality-video-social-media-attitudes/index.html

Gale in Context: High School

A good general purpose database.  Start here for most topics.

Offsite password: empirelink or sutherland

Codeswitching/Double Consciousness

Definitions:

Code Switching (codeswitching and code-switching):  survival technique, to help someone seamlessly blend into different social and professional situations- particularly where you are a minority.  It can be used consciously. Or it can happen without even noticing you are doing it.

Double consciousness is the internal conflict experienced by subordinated or colonized groups in an oppressive society. The term and the idea were first published in by W. E. B. Du Bois's autoethnographic work, The Souls of Black Folk in 1897, in which he described the African American experience of double consciousness, including his own.

Rao, Sonia. "'What's Up with that White Voice?': The Tricky Art of Linguistic Code-switching." Washington Post, 6 July 2018. Gale In Context: Science, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A545619077/GPS?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=GPS&xid=5a037a44.

 Radio Broadcast (with transcript): “Code Switching: Are We All Guilty?" Tell Me More, 13 Jan. 2010. Gale In Context: Science, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A216428703/GPS?u=nysl_ro_suth&sid=GPS&xid=36b4a83b.

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints features VIEWPOINT essays (opinionated pieces) on a large number of controversial topics, along with news items, reference articles, media and much more.

Offsite password: empirelink or sutherland

Librarian

Profile Photo
Brian Regan
Contact:
585-267-3044