Brighton HS Library Media Center: Research Databases

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a one-stop source for information on social issues. OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, and images.

Global Issues In Context supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search—Global Issues In Context is updated daily and offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages. Exclusive to Global Issues In Context, Global Issues Viewpoints contains more than 3,000 exclusive commentaries that provide background and guidance on significant topics.

An editorially curated pro/con database that meets the research needs of students and educators by providing premium content correlated to key curricular standards and subjects.

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society treats the most compelling and divisive topics in modern society with authoritative historical context, balanced perspectives from experts, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources.

Ideal for developing students' global literacy, World Geography: Understanding a Changing World by ABC-CLIO investigates the geographic, political, social, economic, and cultural forces shaping the modern world.

An essential companion to coursework in world history, Modern Genocide: Understanding Causes and Consequences dedicates itself to the understanding of a topic humanity cannot afford to ignore.

Sensitive coverage of 10 modern genocides supports the development of students as global citizens and critical thinkers. Primary sources and historical perspectives serve as springboards for discussions on human rights, international law, and modern-day prejudice.

The Latino American Experience illuminates the rich heritage and culture of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Guatemalan, Cuban, Dominican, Colombian, Ecuadorian, and other Latino groups in the United States.
Primary sources, student activities, and historical commentary facilitate the investigation of key events, leaders, and movements, from the civil rights era to 21st century movements related to voting access, political representation, and immigration reform.

Providing a comprehensive survey of African American history, The African American Experience from ABC-CLIO shows students the challenges and contributions of African Americans across political, social, artistic, and literary contexts.

Global Issues In Context supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search—Global Issues In Context is updated daily and offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages. Exclusive to Global Issues In Context, Global Issues Viewpoints contains more than 3,000 exclusive commentaries that provide background and guidance on significant topics.

Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.

Ancient & Medieval History Online database covers prehistory through the mid-15th century with overview essays describing key cultural topics original maps and charts.

American History Online database spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events.

Modern World History covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from mid-15th century to the present.

Business Insights: Essentials database provides company profiles, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals.

CIA World Factbook, a publication of the CIA provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazines, and multimedia content.

Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.

Comprehensive periodical content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more.

Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

Search scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily.

Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.

Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. history. Best for novice historians and academic researchers. Updated daily.

Gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.

Access balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.

Includes eReference Books on mathematics, law, science, and social issues are available here. Titles include: West’s Encyclopedia of American Law, Real-Life Math, and Infectious Diseases in Context.

The essentials for conducting thorough research all in one site. Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.

Built on hundreds of award-winning reference source for all levels of researchers, PCU provides an authoritative haven for investigating Pop Culture without the bias, advertising, suggestive content, or questionable authorship of commercial or fan sites. The exclusive Perspectives sections help users understand the continuity in human interests across generations and provide everything needed for a lively, historical inquiry project.

There are 37 e-books including science, English, dance, health, social studies, and more.

A wide variety of subjects in eReference format.

These can be accessed through the BHS library catalog or via this link with the username and password: bhstudent.

A database of over 1,000 free, peer-reviewed books from over 25 publishers

Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazines, and multimedia content.

EBSCO GreenFILE is a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. Make sure you click the "full-text" box when searching.

A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments. Primarily scholarly sources.

Investigate environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests.

Access leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.

Access articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology. Updated daily.

Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.

Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management.

Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.

A great resource for book reviews, author interviews, and multimedia pieces. An excellent place to explore or jumpstart your literature research.

Search this digital master index to find coverage of authors and works in products published by Gale.

Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more.

Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

Greek Mythology and History

A source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics in the humanities and social sciences.

This database contains over 5,000 searchable journals from over 115 countries

Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.

Access the most searched magazines across Gale OneFile focusing on current events, sports, science, and health issues.

Search the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1985).

A good source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources.

This database contains full text for more than 2,100 journals. Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.

JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.

A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.

The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring a range of images from some of the world’s leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository.

Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students.

All of the Gale Databases in one place. Login to your account so you can save articles to OneDrive

Library of Congress, a collection that contains over 200 databases, with new databases added regularly. These range from indexes and abstracts for magazines and scholarly journals, to full text resources.

Digital Public Library of America: over 5 million books, images, historic records, A/V for free!

Soundzabound is a royalty free music library with a wide variety of music, audio themes and sound effects that ensures your copyright safety. for podcases, PowerPoint, videos, news shows, digital storytellings, presentations, TV broadcasts, web design, etc.

Username: monroeoneboces
Password: monroeoneboces

Archive of user created sounds including bed music, efx, etc.

Sound effects from the BBC library with mixermode tool.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Monroe County Library System provides a number of excellent databases, as well as books. Several require the use of a public library card number. See BHS Library Staff if you need assistance.

Research a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career.