7th Grade Civil War Research: Home
Helpful Search Tips
SEARCH TIPS!!
- Use the databases listed on this page! These are reliable sources.
- Think about which databases make sense. Biography in Context will be good if you know the name of the people you are researching, but not as good for battles or topics.
- Think about your search terms. For example, if you search medicine you may get medicine from many different time periods. Try searching Civil War Medicine, Civil War Weapons
US History
- U.S. History Collection
A comprehensive collection of periodicals supporting topics in U.S. History
FactCite
- FactCite
A collection of databases that support curriculum and stimulate young researchers.
Resources include: Mythology, Biography for Beginners, Essential Biographies (formerly Sports Champions and Shapers of Society), Science, American History, Essential Information (a general reference encyclopedia) and Defining Moments in American History.
Biography in Context
- Biography in Context
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people.
Research in Context
- Research In Context *New
Research In Context provides engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content supporting national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science.
Encyclopedia Britannica Middle School
- Britannica Middle
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended Web sites.
Civil War Topics
Civil War Topics:
- Underground Railroad
- Compromises: Missouri Compromise, Compromise of 1850 & The Kansas Nebraska Act
- Fugitive Slave Law
- Uncle Tom's Cabin
- Reformers (2+)
- Dred Scott Decision
- John Brown's Raid
- Lincoln's Election
- Comparison of Confederate & Union Armies
- Battle of Shiloh
- Fort Sumter
- Battle of Bull Run
- Battle of Antietam
- Battle of Gettysburg/Gettysburg Address
- 54th Regiment
- Weapons & Technology (2+)
- Medicine (2+)
- Music
- Sports during this era
- Prison Life (ex: Andersonville, Elmira Prison)
- Spies (women or men) (2)
- People of the war (nurses, generals, women etc.) (2+)
- Reconstruction
Librarian
Destiny Discover
- Destiny Discover Catalog
The Johanna Perrin Middle School Online Library Catalog
NoodleTools
- NoodleTools
Student research platform with MLA, APA and Chicago/Turabian bibliographies, notecards, outlining.
Sign-in HERE OR Sign-in through your email.
