Mrs. Smith - Plant, Animal and Water Research Guide: Home
Plant and Animals of the Great Lakes Region
Follett Online Catalog - Non-fiction books
This catalog interface is a little different than the one you are accustomed to. It offers you not only titles in our collection but suggestions to websites relevant to your topic/ search.
Source Evaluation
Zen PowerPoint
Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Invasive Species by
This two-volume set provides a one-stop resource on invasive plants, animals, fungi, and microorganisms that are threatening native ecosystems, agriculture, economies, and human health in the United States. * 79 entries on animal species and 89 entries on plants, including some fungi and microorganisms * State-by-state lists of invasive animals and plants designated as noxious or invasive * Maps accompany each entry, depicting the organism's original habitat and the regions to which it has now spread * Tables on pathways of introduction and impacts of invasive plants * Hundreds of photographs of featured plants, animals, and fungi * A glossary of terms related to the biology and ecology of invasive species * Appendixes containing information on organizations and legislation related to the prevention or control of invasive species
ISBN: 9780313382208Publication Date: 2011-09-22
Biomes and Ecosystems by
this academic, multi-author reference work serves as a general and non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of biomes and ecosystems; to discover the biology and geography of these places around the world; to learn the
ISBN: 9781429838139Publication Date: 2013-05-01
The World Book Encyclopedia 2013 by
The 'World Book Encyclopedia' was first published in 1917 as an 8-volume set. The encyclopedia has been expanded many times through the years and now has 22 volumes. This edition contains 2900 new or revised articles, 200 new or revised maps, 225 new photos, 212 new tables and charts, and 4890 pages are revised.
ISBN: 0716601079Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Beacham's Guide to Endangered Species of North America by
This comprehensive resource, updating The Official World Wildlife Fund Guide to Endangered Species of North America, presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of the more than 1,100 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Arranged geographically, entries in Beacham's Guide to Endangered Species of North America begin with introductory information including an image of the species and a summary section. Each entry then provides detailed information on each species, including: -- Description -- general descriptive facts about the species, including characteristic size, color, weight, etc.-- Behavior -- discusses typical behavior patterns including reproduction and diet-- Habitat -- explains the species' favored and/or primary habitat-- Distribution -- surveys the areas the species is known to populate, both current and historical-- Threats -- describes existing threats to the continuation of the speciesEach entry concludes with a summary of recovery efforts and a bibliography of contacts for further information. Volume 7 includes comprehensive indexes list
ISBN: 0787650285Publication Date: 2000-11-01
Plant by
From cultivating plants that are on the international endangered list or already extinct in the wild, to avoiding invasive species, gardeners can play a vital role in conservation. A groundbreaking reference for both plant enthusiasts and gardeners, Plant is a new-generation encyclopedia designed to provide environmental and horticultural information for anyone concerned about the planet's biodiversity.
ISBN: 075660589XPublication Date: 2005-02-21
MHS Databases-Usernames and Passwords
Daggs Top 10 Tips for Databases
Citations
MHS Librarian
